A Friend of the Earth

A Friend of the Earth

Format
Paperback
Price
$16.00
 
Additional Formats
  • Paperback
  • ISBN 9780141002057
  • 368 Pages
  • Penguin Books
  • Adult

Overview

In the tradition of The Tortilla Curtain, T.C. Boyle blends idealism and satire in a story that addresses the universal questions of human love and the survival of the species. In the year 2025 global warming is a reality, the biosphere has collapsed, and 75-year-old environmentalist Ty Tierwater is eking out a living as care-taker of a pop star’s private zoo when his second ex-wife re-enters his life.

Both gritty and surreal, A Friend of the Earth represents a high-water mark in Boyle’s career-his deep streak of social concern is effortlessly blended here with genuine compassion for his characters and the spirit of sheer exhilarating playfulness readers have come to expect from his work.

Praise

Funny and touching, antic and affecting . . . while Boyle’s humor is as black as ever, he demonstrates that satire can coexist with psychological realism, comedy with compassion.” Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times

“As disaster tales go, this is a sly, hip one…Boyle has always liked to play circus barker for life’s extremes and what better freak show than the environmental apocalypse itself?” The Washington Post

“Both entertaining and informative…hits like a warning shot from twenty-five years into the future.” Chicago Tribune

Penguin Hotline
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small