A Whole New Mind

A Whole New Mind

Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future

Additional Formats
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9781573223089
  • 272 Pages
  • Riverhead Books
  • Adult


Lawyers. Accountants. Radiologists. Software  engineers. That’s what our parents encouraged us to become when we grew up. But Mom and Dad were wrong. The future belongs to a very different kind of person with a very different kind of mind. The era of “left brain” dominance, and the Information Age that it engendered, are giving way to a new world in which “right brain” qualities-inventiveness, empathy, meaning-predominate. That’s the argument at the center of this provocative and original book, which uses the two sides of our brains as a metaphor for understanding the contours of our times.


In the tradition of Emotional Intelligence and Now, Discover Your Strengths, Daniel H. Pink offers a fresh look at what it takes to excel. A Whole New Mind reveals the six essential aptitudes on which professional success and personal fulfillment now depend, and includes a series of hands-on exercises culled from experts around the world to help readers sharpen the necessary abilities. This book will change not only how we see the world but how we experience it as well.


A Whole New Mind

A Whole New Mind

Daniel H. Pink


Will give you a new way to look at your work, your talent, your future. (Worthwhile magazine)

Very important, convincingly argued, and mind-altering. (Po Bronson, author of What Should I Do With My Life?)

Wow! This is not a self-help book. It’s way more important than that. (Seth Godin, author of Purple Cow)

Table of Contents

A Whole New MindIntroduction

Part One: The Conceptual Age

One. Right Brain Rising
Two. Abundance, Asia, and Automation
Three. High Concept, High Touch

Part Two: The Six Senses

Introducing the Six Senses
Four. Design
Five. Story
Six. Symphony
Seven. Empathy
Eight. Play
Nine. Meaning


PRH Book Clubs Survey