An Ember in the Ashes

An Ember in the Ashes

Format
Hardcover
Price
$19.95
 
Additional Formats
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9781595148032
  • 464 Pages
  • Razorbill
  • 14 and up

Overview

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLER

“This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human—and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear.” —The Washington Post

An Ember in the Ashes could launch Sabaa Tahir into JK Rowling territory…It has the addictive quality of The Hunger Games combined with the fantasy of Harry Potter and the brutality of Game of Thrones.” —Public Radio International

“An Ember in the Ashes glows, burns, and smolders—as beautiful and radiant as it is searing.”—Huffington Post 
 
“A worthy novel—and one as brave as its characters.” —The New York Times Book Review
 

A “deft, polished debut”  (Publishers Weekly, starred review), Sabaa Tahir‘s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES is a thought-provoking, heart-wrenching, and pulse-pounding read. Set in a rich, high-fantasy world with echoes of ancient Rome, it tells the story of a slave fighting for her family and a young soldier fighting for his freedom.

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.
 
Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.
 
It is in this brutal world that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.
 
But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.
 
There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

An Ember in the Ashes

An Ember in the Ashes

Sabaa Tahir

Praise

“[An Ember in the Ashes] thrusts its readers into a world marred by violence and oppression, yet does so with simple prose that can offer moments of loveliness in its clarity. This complexity makes Ember a worthy novel—and one as brave as its characters.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy.” —Us Weekly

An Ember in the Ashes mixes The Hunger Games with Game of Thrones…and adds a dash of Romeo and Juliet.” The Hollywood Reporter

Blew me away…This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic—expect to be completely transported.” —MTV.com

“Fast-paced, well-structured and full of twists and turnsAn Ember in the Ashes is an evocative debut that has left me invested in knowing what happens next.” —NPR
 
“Once you get caught up in the story, it’s addictive, and there’s no way you can put it down before you figure out what happens to the characters you have fallen for over the course of the 400 some-odd pages. So I didn’t.” —Bustle 
 
One thing I can say for sure: this is a page-turner. There comes a moment when it’s impossible to put it down. Sabaa Tahir is a strong writer, but most of all, she’s a great storyteller.” —The Huffington Post

“A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; and a villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateursAn Ember in the Ashes is at the top of our must-read list for 2015.” —MTV.com

“Be prepared to be blown away by this fantasy-thriller-adventure.” —Girls’ Life

An Ember in the Ashes is a book that’s too good to put down.” —RedEye
 
Perfect for fans of Maggie Stievater’s The Scorpio Races or Sarah Maas’s Throne of Glass series…The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC!” —TeenVogue.com

“Tahir’s deft, polished debut alternates between two very different perspectives on the same brutal world, deepening both in the contrast. In a tale brimming with political intrigue and haunted by supernatural forces, the true tension comes from watching Elias and Laia struggle to decide where their loyalties lie.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
“Tahir’s world-building is wonderfully detailed and the setting is an unusual one for fantasy novels. All of her characters, even minor ones, are fully realized….For fans of Game of Thrones and of Melina Marchetta’s Finnikin of the Rock.” —School Library Journal
 
“An original, well-constructed fantasy world…truly engaging.” —Kirkus Reviews 
 
“An epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.” —Hypable.com

“First-time novelist Tahir has written an ambitious sword-and-sand adventure story that is notable for its suspense and scope.” —Booklist 
 
“Here’s one of the year’s most anticipated young-adult debuts.” —io9.com

I was so engrossed with this book that I missed a connecting flight. If that doesn’t convince you to read An Ember in the Ashes, I don’t know what will. An explosive, heartbreaking, epic debut that will keep you glued to the pages. I hope the world’s ready for Sabaa Tahir.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of Legend
 
“With An Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir shows us light in the darkness, hope in a world of despair, and the human spirit reaching for greatness in difficult times.” —#1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson
 
An Ember in the Ashes is a spectacular page turner that asks readers to consider how far they’d go to save the ones they love. Sabaa Tahir is the next superstar in young adult fiction and her debut is as cinematic as Gladiator and as high-stakes as Game of Thrones.”—Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s
 
A heart-pounding story of love and loss, with the most original world-building I’ve read all year. Deeply felt and deeply moving, I could not put it down.” —Margaret Stohl, New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures
 
“This electric debut is a pulse-pounding action-packed Romeo and Juliet story in a richly imagined world with a great twist and heroic characters you’ll root for and won’t stop thinking about.” —Melissa de la Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of Frozen and The Ring and the Crown

NEWSROOM

4/29/15

Sabaa Tahir’s debut novel An Ember in the Ashes came out this week from Razorbill to rave reviews. In an interview titled “Why An Ember in the Ashes could launch Sabaa Tahir into JK Rowling… Read more >

3/2/15

Raves have been pouring in for debut novelist Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember In The Ashes, which goes on sale from Razorbill on April 28. The book is already hitting “most-anticipated” lists across… Read more >

promo_SHOP
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small