Becoming Clementine

Becoming Clementine

A Novel

Format
ePub
Price
$12.99
 
Additional Formats
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9781101603444
  • 368 Pages
  • Plume
  • Adult

Overview

For fans of Alan Furst and Sarah Blake, a spellbinding story of a secret mission and dangerous passion in World War II Paris:
 
After delivering a B-17 Flying Fortress to Britain, an American volunteers to copilot a plane carrying special agents to their drop spot over Normandy. Her personal mission: to find her brother, who is missing in action. Their plane is shot down, and only she and five agents survive. Now they are on the run for their lives.

As they head to Paris, the beautiful aviatrix Velva Jean Hart becomes Clementine Roux, a daring woman on an epic adventure with her team to capture an operative known only as "Swan." Once settled on Rue de la Néva, Clementine works as a spy with the Resistance and finds herself falling in love with her fellow agent, Émile, a handsome and mysterious Frenchman with secrets of his own. When Clementine ends up in the most brutal prison in Paris, trying to help Émile and the team rescue Swan, she discovers the depths of human cruelty, the triumph of her own spirit, and the bravery of her team, who will stop at nothing to carry out their mission.

Readers of 22 Britannia Road, The Postmistress, and Suite Francaise will cherish Becoming Clementine—a romantic World War II adventure told from the perspective of a courageous and beautiful heroine. Niven is the author of the popular Velva Jean novels, including Velva Jean Learns to Drive and Velva Jean Learns to Fly.
 
Becoming Clementine

Becoming Clementine

Jennifer Niven

Video

Praise

Praise for Becoming Clementine:
 
“Unforgettable and heartfelt.”
Pam Jenoff, bestselling author of The Kommandant’s Girl and The Diplomat’s Wife
 
“A page-turner of a story.”
James Earl Jones, Tony Award-winning and Emmy Award-winning actor
 
“An unforgettable tale of love, sacrifice, courage and compassion that will resonate with readers long after they finish the book.”
Chicago Tribune
 
“A spell-binding spy saga.”
Elizabeth P. McIntosh, OSS/CIA, and author of Sisterhood of Spies
 
“A heart-stopping tale of wartime intrigue, romance and high adventure.”
Romantic Times (A Top Pick)
 
“It’s all here—intrigue, romance, heroism. A terrifically absorbing read.”
Will Irwin, author of The Jedburghs and Abundance of Valor
 
“Richly textured, historically evocative, emotionally mesmerizing, Becoming Clementine takes you on a journey so gripping you can smell the gun smoke.”
Kerry Reichs, author of What You Wish For and Leaving Unknown
Penguin Hotline
Brightly
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small