Believing Is Seeing

Believing Is Seeing

Creating the Culture of Art

Format
Paperback
Price
$18.00
 
  • Paperback
  • ISBN 9780140168242
  • 320 Pages
  • Penguin Books
  • Adult

Overview

Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp’s ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more “art-like” than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued.

Table of Contents

Instructions for Use
What Is Art?
Art and the Modern Subject
The Term “Art”
Aesthetics: The Theory of Art
The Privilege: Creating Art
The Academy
The Museum
The Discipline: Art History and the Development of Modernism
The Avant-Garde, Popular Culture and the Creation of the Mass Media
Art and Culture Today
Selected Bibliography
Picture Credits
promo_Western
promo_SHOP
promo_BeaksGeeks
PRH Book Clubs Survey
promo_FirsttoRead_Small

Westerns

Craig Johnson
Keith McCafferty
Michael McGarrity
promo_PenguinBlog_small
promo_FirsttoRead_Small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_EditorsDesk

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Penguin 80th Anniversary
Penguin 80th Timeline
Penguin 80th The Original 10
Penguin 80th Scavenger Hunt
Fun Fact

Elvis Presley is born in 1935 and, a little over 20 years later, he would have his first #1 single on the US charts, forever changing the landscape of popular culture and ushering in a new age of celebrity superstardom.

Penguin 80th Book Truck