Everything Matters!

Everything Matters!

A Novel

Format
Ebook
Price
$12.99
 
  • Ebook
  • ISBN 9781101050927
  • 320 Pages
  • Penguin Books
  • Adult

Overview

“Startlingly talented . . . he survives the inevitable, apt comparisons to Kurt Vonnegut and writes in a tenderly mordant voice all his own.” -Janet Maslin, The New York Times

In this novel rich in character, Junior Thibodeau grows up in rural Maine in a time of Atari, baseball cards, pop Catholicism, and cocaine. He also knows something no one else knows-neither his exalted parents, nor his baseball-savant brother, nor the love of his life (she doesn’t believe him anyway): The world will end when he is thirty-six. While Junior searches for meaning in a doomed world, his loved ones tell an all-American family saga of fathers and sons, blinding romance, lost love, and reconciliation-culminating in one final triumph that reconfigures the universe. A tour de force of storytelling, Everything Matters! is a genre-bending potpourri of alternative history, sci-fi, and the great American tale in the tradition of John Irving and Margaret Atwood.

Praise

” Like Kurt Vonnegut, Currie understands that . . . humor is a more powerful salt than screed.”
-San Francisco Chronicle

“Mr. Currie is a startlingly talented writer whose book will pay no heed to ordinary narrative conventions…. He survives the inevitable, apt comparisons to Kurt Vonnegut and writes in a tenderly mordant voice of his own…. Throughout the story there is the sheer delight of Mr. Currie’s fresh, joltingly funny imagery…. Above all “Everything Matters!” radiates writerly confidence. The excitement that drives the reader from page to page is not about the characters. It’s about seeing what Mr. Currie will try next.”
–Janet Maslin, New York Times
promo_Western
promo_SHOP
promo_BeaksGeeks
PRH Book Clubs Survey
promo_FirsttoRead_Small

Westerns

Craig Johnson
Keith McCafferty
Michael McGarrity
promo_PenguinBlog_small
promo_FirsttoRead_Small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_EditorsDesk

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Penguin 80th Anniversary
Penguin 80th Timeline
Penguin 80th The Original 10
Penguin 80th Scavenger Hunt
Fun Fact

Elvis Presley is born in 1935 and, a little over 20 years later, he would have his first #1 single on the US charts, forever changing the landscape of popular culture and ushering in a new age of celebrity superstardom.

Penguin 80th Book Truck