Four Queens

Four Queens

The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe

Format
ePub
Price
$12.99
 
Additional Formats
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9781101202173
  • 368 Pages
  • Penguin Books
  • Adult

Overview

For fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser,acclaimed author Nancy Goldstone’s thrilling history of the royal daughters who succeeded in ruling—and shaping—thirteenth-century Europe

Set against the backdrop of the thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, troubadors, knights and monarchs, Four Queens is the story of four provocative sisters—Marguerite, Eleanor, Sanchia, and Beatrice of Provence—who rose from near obscurity to become the most coveted and powerful women in Europe.  Each sister in this extraordinary family was beautiful, cultured, and accomplished but what made these women so remarkable was that each became queen of a principal European power—France, England, Germany and Sicily. During their reigns, they exercised considerable political authority, raised armies, intervened diplomatically and helped redraw the map of Europe.  Theirs is a drama of courage, sagacity and ambition that re-examines the concept of leadership in the Middle Ages.

Praise

“A wonderful book about four remarkable women . . . An utterly compelling read.”
-Alison Weir, author of Eleanor of Aquitaine

“A densely woven narrative of sibling rivalry, simmering resentments, and thwarted ambitions. . . . Times change but not, it seems, sisterly love.”
-Dr. Amanda Foreman, author of Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire

“Remarkable . . . told with all the verve and aplomb and richness of detail that four such extraordinary women deserve.”
-Ross King, author of Brunelleschi’s Dome

“Goldstone weaves a vivid tapestry worthy of her subjects.”
-Entertainment Weekly

“On Goldstone’s rich, beautifully woven tapestry, medieval Europe springs to vivid life. . . . This is a fresh, eminently enjoyable history that gives women their due as movers and shakers in tumultuous times.”
-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

promo_SHOP
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small