Four Tragedies

Four Tragedies

Written by:
Edited by: T. J. B. Spencer

  • Paperback
  • ISBN 9780140434583
  • 960 Pages
  • Penguin Classics
  • Adult


A Penguin Classics edition containing Hamlet, Othello, King Lear, and Macbeth

The theme of the great Shakespearean tragedies is the fall from grace of a great man due to a flaw in his nature. Whether it is the ruthless ambition of Macbeth or the folly of Lear, the irresolution of Hamlet or the suspicion of Othello, the cause of the tragedy – even when it is the murder of a king – is trifling compared to the calamity that it unleashes. Despite his flawed nature, however, the tragic hero has a nobility that emphasizes the greatness of man. From this paradox the audience is brought to a greater understanding of – and sympathy with – suffering. The four tragedies in this collection are accompanied by notes and an introduction to each text, making this edition of particular value to students and theatre-goers.

For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
Four Tragedies

Four Tragedies

Written by: William Shakespeare, Edited by: T. J. B. Spencer