Harley Loco

Harley Loco

A Memoir of Hard Living, Hair, and Post-Punk, from the Middle East to the Lower East Side


Introduction by:

Format
Ebook
Price
$11.99
 
Additional Formats
  • Ebook
  • ISBN 9781101606186
  • 320 Pages
  • Penguin Books
  • Adult

Overview

“It is my honor to introduce these pages—so gravelly, so straggly, so hopeful, bright, and true.”  —Elizabeth Gilbert

When she was seven, Rayya Elias and her family fled the political conflict in their native Syria, settling in Detroit. Bullied in school and caught between the world of her traditional family and her tough American classmates, she rebelled early.

Elias moved to New York City to become a musician and kept herself afloat with an uncommon talent for cutting hair. At the height of the punk movement, life on the Lower East Side was full of adventure, creative inspiration, and temptation. Eventually, Elias’s passionate affairs with lovers of both sexes went awry, her (more than) occasional drug use turned to addiction, and she found herself living on the streets—between her visits to jail.

This debut memoir charts four decades of a life lived in the moment, a path from harrowing loss and darkness to a place of peace and redemption. Elias’s wit and lack of self-pity in the face of her extreme highs and lows make Harley Loco a powerful read that’s sure to appeal to fans of Patti Smith, Augusten Burroughs, and Eleanor Henderson.
Harley Loco

Harley Loco

Rayya Elias, Introduction by: Elizabeth Gilbert

promo_Western
promo_SHOP
promo_BeaksGeeks
PRH Book Clubs Survey
promo_FirsttoRead_Small

Westerns

Craig Johnson
Keith McCafferty
Michael McGarrity
promo_PenguinBlog_small
promo_FirsttoRead_Small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_EditorsDesk

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Penguin 80th Anniversary
Penguin 80th Timeline
Penguin 80th The Original 10
Penguin 80th Scavenger Hunt
Fun Fact

Elvis Presley is born in 1935 and, a little over 20 years later, he would have his first #1 single on the US charts, forever changing the landscape of popular culture and ushering in a new age of celebrity superstardom.

Penguin 80th Book Truck