Heaven's Fall

Heaven’s Fall


Format
Paperback
Price
$9.99
 
  • Paperback
  • ISBN 9780425256206
  • 560  Pages
  • Ace
  • Adult

Overview

Mankind’s first contact with extraterrestrial life led to an incredible revelation. Their last may lead them to extinction.

Twenty years have passed since the mysterious Near-Earth Object nicknamed Keanu appeared in the night sky and transported humans from all over Earth into its interior. There they discovered that Keanu was a long-range spaceship—and they were not alone. They joined forces with the aliens called the Architects, who had come from a distant galaxy to seek help in fighting the vicious Reivers. And they defeated them.

Or so they thought.

For when Keanu reestablished contact with Earth, they learned that the Reivers have taken over the planet, placing most of the population under their dominion. But mankind’s last hope may yet be hidden inside the NEO. And if the men and women still in Keanu cannot find it, humanity will be finished. And the galaxy will be next.
Heaven's Fall

Heaven’s Fall

David S. Goyer, Michael Cassutt

Praise

Praise for Heaven’s Fall:

“[O]ne of the bestter sci-fi trilogies of recent years…hard sci-fi with heart, a combination that results in an impactful tale powerfully told.”—The Maine Edge

Praise for the previous novel in the series, Heaven’s War:

“Fans of hard SF delighted in Heaven’s Shadow, a solid and engrossing novel in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Robert A. Heinlein…Now Heaven’s War takes the story to the next level.”—George R. R. Martin, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the A Song of Ice and Fire novels

Series

Heaven’s Shadow
Heaven's War
David S. Goyer
Michael Cassutt
Heaven's Shadow
David S. Goyer
Michael Cassutt

Extras

Essay

The Heaven’s trilogy was born in the fall of 2006. David Goyer, screenwriter (Blade, Dark City, and Batman Begins) asked Michael Cassutt (author of the space thrillers Missing Man, Red Moon) to work with him on a treatment for a big Sci-Fi movie.

David had the initial cool idea; Michael had the near-future spaceflight chops. It seemed like a clean, simple division of labor.

Except that both of us had broader experience than the shorthand suggests. David had also written comic books and television; Michael had published non-fiction works while also working on a dozen different TV series.

What both had in common was a fairly extensive knowledge of, and love for, science fiction, notably the works of Arthur C. Clarke, Gene Wolfe, Jack Vance, Robert A. Heinlein as well as every Sci-Fi movie and TV project ever made.

With that background, we quickly jumped beyond the simple goal of a feature film treatment to a plan for a trilogy of not just movies but novels, too.

There was a danger here: most SF or fantasy trilogies take many years to journey from concept to completion—and that includes those that grew beyond their original single-volume origins, like Arthur C. Clarke’s Rama books and Larry Niven’s Ringworld series. Our friend George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, originally planned as three novels, is now at five and headed for seven—and has been twenty years in the writing.

We didn’t want that kind of commitment. Our model had to be John Varley’s Titan series, or Samuel R. Delany’s Fall of the Towers—trilogies that were conceived as three stories . . . and stayed that way.

And, by and large, we were able to accomplish that, as we plunged into the challenges of developing a background and creating characters, structuring a story and finding a narrative voice.

We knew we were creating an Sci-Fi thriller, a story in which the idea was paramount . . . but both of us were also bored with Big Ideas that left no room for people. So, no matter how much fun we had with aliens and scalar sentience and morphogenetic fields and cool spacecraft, we put as much effort into Zack Stewart and his wife, Megan, and their daughter, Rachel—and their friends, enemies, and associates, from NASA and Bangalore and places beyond.

In some cases, far beyond.

The first story, Heaven’s Shadow, dealt with the arrival of a Near-Earth Object named Keanu and a “race” between U.S. and the Coalition spacecraft to make the first landing. Both crews then discovered that Keanu was not just a big ball of ice and rock making its lonely way across the galaxy, but a giant space vehicle thousands of years old, inhabited by representatives of several different alien races—and not just them.

Heaven’s Shadow was also the story of astronaut Zack Stewart’s struggle to move past a family tragedy that, strangely, returns to haunt him—quite literally—on his mission of exploration.

The second book, Heaven’s War, followed directly on the shocking events of Shadow, revealing more of Keanu’s secrets as a new and expanded cast of characters adjusted to life on the Near-Earth Object . . . while trying to survive.

Then, no doubt violating all the rules of trilogy-writing, the story took a turn . . . the third book, Heaven’s Fall, leaps twenty years into the future and focuses on characters who didn’t necessarily play leading roles in the first two books. Instead of taking Keanu further into deep space, the Neo turns back toward Earth for a final confrontation . . .

And we say farewell to people and non-human entities and challenges we first encountered almost seven years ago, all the while hoping you enjoy the voyage, too.

Well, maybe not a final farewell. Warner acquired the rights to all three books; David has written a screenplay and the studio has assigned Charles Roven as producer. Next step . . . a director, then who knows?

Until then, here is the concluding chapter of the Heaven’s trilogy, Heaven’s Fall.

Penguin Hotline
Brightly
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small