Hopper and Wilson

Hopper and Wilson


Illustrator: Maria van Lieshout

Format
Board Book
Price
$6.99
 
Additional Formats
  • Board Book
  • ISBN 9780399163319
  • 32  Pages
  • Philomel
  • 3 – 5

Overview

A beautiful book about friendship and the specialness of home, now in board book form!

“What,” Hopper asks his little friend Wilson, “do you think it’s like at the end of the world?” Hopper, the blue elephant, imagines a staircase to the moon, while Wilson, the yellow mouse, hopes for an endless supply of lemonade. So the two sail off in a boat made of paper . . . only to discover they already have everything they could wish for in each other, and at home.

The adorable art, simple text, and clean design will appeal to toddlers and elementary-schoolers alike. A perfect story for fans of Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers. 

Praise

"This was my (Phil’s) absolute favorite book of the year. I love this book. Erin and I taught a writing workshop this year as a fundraiser. We made sure to read this book aloud to a room of adults as an example of how to write a beautiful book."
—Philip and Erin Stead, author and illustrator of Caldecott-winning A Sick Day for Amos McGee

“Children will immediately like these two funny little guys, whose exposed stitching make them seem both Velveteen and vulnerable. They’ll also fall for the book’s soothing cadence and rolling rhythms. . .  Winsomely ambiguous and otherworldly, this sweet, quirky story offers fantastic footholds for dizzying discussion”
Kirkus Reviews
“Scenic, dreamy, and dramatic . . . conveys a vast range of emotions and paints a picture of the love and trust between true friends.”
School Library Journal
promo_SHOP
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small