Knife Music

Knife Music

A Novel

Format
Ebook
Price
$3.99
 
  • Ebook
  • ISBN 9781590205822
  • 352 Pages
  • Overlook Books
  • Adult

Overview

Tense and twisting, Knife Music is the story of a doctor struggling to clear his name after being accused of raping and causing the suicide of a young girl. The novel pits Ted Cogan, a forty-three-year- old surgeon and self-described womanizer, against Hank Madden, a handicapped veteran detective. From the outset it’s not clear who is victim and who is victimizer, as the usually dispassionate Madden grapples with his long-suppressed prejudices and his obsession with bringing Ted Cogan to justice at any cost. It all leads up to the most stunning surprise ending since Scott Turow’s Presumed Innocent.

Praise

Knife Music is a tense cat-and-mouse thriller, but with real heart. Cinematic and compelling, it kept me riveted to the last page.” –R. J. Ellory, award-winning author of A Quiet Belief in Angels

“Carnoy’s debut is gripping, suspenseful, totally believable-and shockingly good.” –Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Tell No One

“Tautly paced and full of crisp dialogue, Carnoy’s prose is pitch-perfect whether delving into medical and police procedural or sussing out the nuances of campus hookup culture. In Cogan, he’s concocted an appealing, edgy protagonist-cocksure, arrogant and abrasive towards his less competent colleagues and ‘difficult’ patients, but possessed of a roguish charm that makes readers want to tag along, even if they’re not sure where his moral compass is pointing. A gripping thriller debut that is just what the doctor ordered.” — Kirkus Discoveries

“Impressive is the debut of David Carnoy with the surprisingly complex and sophisticated Knife Music. It’s a combination legal/medical novel, so neatly plotted it seems the first-timer might have over-reached. Yet Carnoy resolves everything with enough originality to deliver a satisfying jolt.” –ForeWord Magazine

“Fans of Law and Order type mysteries with ever-morphing questions of who’s the victim and who’s the perp will enjoy this one.” –Library Journal
promo_SHOP
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small