Landry Park

Landry Park

Format
ePub
Price
$10.99
 
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9781101594155
  • 384 Pages
  • Dial Books for Young Readers
  • 9 – 12

Overview

“Downton Abbey” meets The Selection in this dystopian tale of love and betrayal

Sixteen-year-old Madeline Landry is practically Gentry royalty. Her ancestor developed the nuclear energy that has replaced electricity, and her parents exemplify the glamour of the upper class. As for Madeline, she would much rather read a book than attend yet another debutante ball. But when she learns about the devastating impact the Gentry lifestyle—her lifestyle—is having on those less fortunate, her whole world is turned upside down.  As Madeline begins to question everything she has been told, she finds herself increasingly drawn to handsome, beguiling David Dana, who seems to be hiding secrets of his own. Soon, rumors of war and rebellion start to spread, and Madeline finds herself at the center of it all. Ultimately, she must make a choice between duty—her family and the estate she loves dearly—and desire.

Fans of Ally Condie, Kiera Cass, Veronica Roth, and even Jane Austen will be enthralled by this breathtaking read.

Praise

Gone with the Wind meets The Hunger Games.” – VOYA

“A mélange of sci-fi inventions, well-written characters, and classic literary allusions.” – The Christian Science Monitor

“This is a terrific mash-up of a Regency period romance with a dystopian tale that will intrigue teen readers, and introduce some important questions about the structure of modern society.” – School Library Journal

“Hagen’s debut is filled with luxurious language, swoon-worthy love interests, and exceptional world-building…this first book in a trilogy will appeal to fans of Diana Peterfreund’s For Darkness Shows the Stars and Catherine Fisher’s Incarceron.” – School Library Journal

“Heated debates and similarly heated kisses fuel Madeline and David’s will-they/won’t-they relationship, tempering the social commentary with a bit of romantic drama.” – The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books


 
Penguin Hotline
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_Teen_small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small