Let's Pretend This Never Happened

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

(A Mostly True Memoir)

Format
Hardcover
Price
$25.95
 
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9780399159015
  • 336 Pages
  • Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam
  • Adult

Overview

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
 
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.
Let's Pretend This Never Happened

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

Jenny Lawson

Video

Praise

“The Bloggess writes stuff that actually is laugh-out-loud, but you know that really you shouldn’t be laughing and probably you’ll go to hell for laughing, so maybe you shouldn’t read it. That would be safer and wiser.” —Neil Gaiman
“Jenny Lawson is hilarious, snarky, witty, totally inappropriate, and ‘Like Mother Teresa, Only Better.’” —Marie Claire magazine
“Jenny Lawson’s writing is nothing less than revolutionary. . . . I say this without a hint of exaggeration: She may be one of the most progressive women’s voices of our time.” —Karen Walrond, author of The Beauty of Different

"Even when I was funny, I wasn’t this funny."  —Augusten Burroughs, author of Running With Scissors and This is How

“There’s something wrong with Jenny Lawson—magnificently wrong. I defy you to read her work and not hurt yourself laughing.” —Jen Lancaster

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened won Goodread’s Best Humor Book of 2012 and was chosen as one of Hudson Bookseller’s Best Books of 2012

Survey
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small