Love and Other Foreign Words

Love and Other Foreign Words

Format
Hardcover
Price
$17.99
 
Additional Formats
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9780803740518
  • 336 Pages
  • Dial Books for Young Readers
  • Teen

Overview

Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, Love and Other Foreign Words is equal parts comedy and coming of age–a whip-smart, big-hearted, laugh-out-loud love story about sisters, friends, and what it means to love at all.

Can anyone be truly herself–or truly in love–in a language that’s not her own?

Sixteen-year-old Josie lives her life in translation. She speaks High School, College, Friends, Boyfriends, Break-ups, and even the language of Beautiful Girls. But none of these is her native tongue–the only people who speak that are her best friend Stu and her sister Kate. So when Kate gets engaged to an epically insufferable guy, how can Josie see it as anything but the mistake of a lifetime? Kate is determined to bend Josie to her will for the wedding; Josie is determined to break Kate and her fiancé up. As battles are waged over secrets and semantics, Josie is forced to examine her feelings for the boyfriend who says he loves her, the sister she loves but doesn’t always like, and the best friend who hasn’t said a word–at least not in a language Josie understands.

Praise

Praise for Love and Other Foreign Words:

“Cracklingly smart . . . With impeccable clarity—and hilarity . . . This clever read will satisfy fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Stephanie Perkins.” —Booklist
 
“Impossibly winning.” —The Wall Street Journal
 
«“McCahan’s sharp-witted first-person narrative will keep readers laughing.” —Publisher’s Weekly (starred review)
 
“Josie’s a rarity in teen literature, a genuine original. . . . Trying to control what can’t be controlled, wanting and fearing love, she’s one of us. Lively characters and a satisfying plot foil reader expectations in the best possible way.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“Readers in the mood for serious laughs need look no further . . . [Josie Sheridan’s] analytical, overthinking narration and knack for delivering truly lacerating quips . . . will have readers sticking by her side.” —Publisher’s Weekly, Best Summer Books 2014

“It’s beautifully written, and it touches the heart of the high school (and let’s be honest, adult) life experience: figuring out where you belong and what that means about who you are. . . . I can’t say enough great things about this book. I loved it from start to finish.”—Lisa Parkin for the Huffington Post

“A true-blue lovable weirdo, [Josie is] the type of character I really enjoy seeing . . . [She is] authentically herself, even when being herself gets in her into trouble.” —HelloGiggles
 
 
Penguin Hotline
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_Teen_small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small