Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking

Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking

A 14 Day Mystery

Format
Hardcover
Price
$16.99
 
Additional Formats
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9780803738713
  • 256 Pages
  • Dial Books for Young Readers
  • 9 – 12

Overview

Edgar Award Finalist

For fans of The Westing Game and From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler comes a clever, treasure-hunt mystery based on a real-life art heist.

 

Moxie Fleece knows the rules and follows them–that is, until the day she opens her front door to a mysterious stranger. Suddenly Moxie is involved in Boston’s biggest unsolved mystery: The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum art heist. Moxie has two weeks to find the art, otherwise she and the people she loves will be in big-time danger.

Her tools? Her best friend, Ollie, a geocaching addict who loves to find stuff; her Alzheimer’s suffering grandfather, Grumps, who knows lots more than he lets on; and a geometry proof that she sets up to sort out the clues.

It’s a race against the clock through downtown Boston as Moxie and Ollie break every rule she’s ever lived by to find the art and save her family.

Praise

Praise for Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking:

Edgar Award Finalist

“Teens will like Moxie and Ollie for their believable adolescent responses and admire them for their sophisticated Internet skills and geocaching expertise, both of which enable them to outsmart gangsters and the FBI. Fans of Blue Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer (2004) will appreciate the similarities.” —Booklist

“[A] fast-paced, National Treasure–style mystery… [a] breathless, action-packed tale.”—Kirkus

“…the believable dialogue and characters, complicated family dynamics, and threat of danger make this mystery hard to put down.”—PW

“[A] breathless thrill-ride. With the recent announcement that the FBI knows the identities of the Gardner art thieves and is continuing its search for the missing works, this title is especially relevant.”—SLJ

“A thoroughly enjoyable adventure…readers will enjoy this suspenseful read; Moxie and Ollie are likeable characters.”—Library Media Connection


 
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_Teen_small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small