My Family for the War

My Family for the War

Format
ePub
Price
$12.99
 
Additional Formats
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9781101575215
  • 412 Pages
  • Dial Books for Young Readers
  • 9 – 12

Overview

Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder Award 
Won the Buxtehulde Bulle Prize for Youth Literature
Nominated for the Evangelischer Buchpreis
An ALSC Notable Children’s Book
Kids’ Indie Next List

 
Gripping WWII fiction for fans of Code Name Verity and Between Shades of Gray
 
At the start of World War II, ten-year-old Franziska Mangold is torn from her family when she boards the kindertransport in Berlin, the train that secretly took nearly 10,000 children out of Nazi territory to safety in England. Taken in by strangers, Frances (as she is now called) courageously pieces together a new life for herself. But what will happen to her when she is finally reunited with her family, now that she’s a stranger herself after seven years of war?
 
Originally published in Germany, Anne Voorhoeve’s award-winning novel is filled with humor, danger, and romance.
 
* “With the personal Kindertransport history, the intense drama about family, faith, guilt, love, and loyalty in wartime makes this an important addition to the Holocaust curriculum.”
Booklist, starred review
 
* “Events and facts are expertly woven into the girl’s emotional growth, and changing relationships . . . provide a rich exploration of identity and self. With a compelling main character and taut and insightful story line, this novel is sure to find no shortage of readers, and it adds a valuable perspective to collections of World War II fiction.”

Praise

Kids’ Indie Next List, Spring 2012
– Recommendations for Kids from Indie Booksellers
* “Events and facts are expertly woven into the girl’s emotional growth, and changing relationships . . . provide a rich exploration of identity and self. With a compelling main character and taut and insightful story line, this novel is sure to find no shortage of readers, and it adds a valuable perspective to collections of World War II fiction.”
– School Library Journal, starred review
"My Family for the War is a must-have for young adults. The novel is simultaneously beautiful, touching, and heart wrenching."
– VOYA
"This is a solid addition to Holocaust collections, life on the home front during the war, and for discussions of what is a family."
– Library Media Connection review
A 2013 ALSC Notable Children’s Book
– ALSC
“[An] engaging and often moving coming-of-age story. A poignant, thoughtful work.”
– Kirkus
* "With the personal Kindertransport history, the intense drama about family, faith, guilt, love, and loyalty in wartime makes this an important addition to the Holocaust curriculum." 
– Booklist, starred review
"This multilayered story [which] cogently explores themes of motherhood and adoptive families is gracefully portrayed."
– Publishers Weekly
Penguin Hotline
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_Teen_small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small