Nickel Bay Nick

Nickel Bay Nick

Format
ePub
Price
$7.99
 
Additional Formats
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9780698135390
  • 272 Pages
  • Puffin
  • 9 – 12

Overview

Perfect for fans of Jerry Spinelli and Gary D. Schmidt, this heartfelt coming-of-age story will make you believe in the power of second chances.
 
Eleven-year-old Sam Brattle is already having the worst Christmas ever – his dad’s bakery is going bankrupt and his mom is spending the holidays with her new family. To make things worse, Nickel Bay Nick, the anonymous Good Samaritan who leaves hundred-dollar bills around Nickel Bay at Christmastime, is a no-show, so this year the rest of the town is as miserable as Sam. When he stumbles upon the secret identity of this mysterious do-gooder, Sam is stunned to learn that he might now be his town’s only hope. But before he can rescue Nickel Bay, Sam has to learn the skills of a spy and unravel some even darker secrets that will change his life forever.

“Told with wry humor, this fast-paced novel will appeal to fans of Louis Sachar’s Holes (Farrar, 1998) and Gary D. Schmidt’s Okay for Now (Clarion, 2011)…. This is a Christmas book that can be enjoyed year-round.”—School Library Journal

Praise

Praise for NICKEL BAY NICK:
 
From SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL:
“Told with wry humor, this fast-paced novel will appeal to fans of Louis Sachar’s Holes and Gary D. Schmidt’s Okay for Now.”
 
 
From KIRKUS REVIEWS:
“There’s a real cinematic feel here—Pitchford also writes for the screen and stage . . . . Sam’s a great, well-realized kid, and readers will root for him every step of the way. A surprising, poignant twist at the end explains Mr. Wells’ true motives for involving Sam and brings about a satisfying, uplifting finale. Crime does pay off—to the benefit of others—in this enjoyable novel.”
 
 
—————————————————————————————————
 
Praise for Dean Pitchford’s CAPTAIN NOBODY:
 
From KIRKUS REVIEWS:
“…the humor and compassion are sure to appeal to reluctant readers.”
 
 
From PUBLISHERS WEEKLY:
Pitchford builds suspense adeptly . . . the young narrator’s earnest voice—and his raw sense of helplessness—are real and affecting.”
 
 
From SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL:
“[Captain Nobody] reads like a summertime feel-good movie. Kids who have longed for their own superhero powers will eat this up.
Praise for Nickel Bay Nick:

“Told with wry humor, this fast-paced novel will appeal to fans of Louis Sachar’s Holes (Farrar, 1998) and Gary D. Schmidt’s Okay for Now (Clarion, 2011). In the best tradition of Christmas stories, it’s a bit of a tearjerker as Sam discovers just why Mr. Wells cares so much about him and learns to forgive his own parents. This is a Christmas book that can be enjoyed year-round.”
School Library Journal

“Sam’s a great, well-realized kid, and readers will root for him every step of the way… Crime does pay off—to the benefit of others—in this enjoyable novel.”
Kirkus Reviews
 
Accolades for Dean Pitchford:

Captain Nobody has been nominated for 13 State Award lists: FL, IL, KS, MN, MO, NH, NM (2 separate years), NY, OK, SC, TN, VA. Audio edition was nominated for a 2010 Grammy Award in the Best Spoken Word for Children category.

The Big One-Oh has been nominated for 5 State Award Lists: KS, MD, MO, NH, SC. Audio edition was nominated for a 2007 Grammy Award in the Best Spoken Word for Children category.
promo_SHOP
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small