Northland Stories

Northland Stories

Introduction by:

Additional Formats
  • Ebook
  • ISBN 9781440673719
  • 320 Pages
  • Penguin Classics
  • Adult


Like the characters in the popular dime novels of the time, London’s heroes display such manly virtues as courage, loyalty, and steadfastness as they conftont the merciless frozen expanses of the north. Yet London breaks free of stereotypical figures and one-dimensional plots to explore deeper psychological and social questions of self-mastery, masculinity, and racial domination. The uneasy relationship between the Native Americans and whites lies at the heart of many of the stories, while others reflect London’s growing awareness of the destruction wrought by the white incursion on Indian culture.

Northland Stories comprises nineteen of Jack London’s greatest short works, including “An Odyssy of the North” (London’s major breakthrough as a young author), “The White Silence,” “The Law of Life,” “The League of the Old Men,” and the world classic “To Build a Fire.”

Table of Contents

Edited with an Introduction and Notes by Jonathan Auerbach

Introduction by Jonathan Auerbach
Suggestions for Further Reading
A Note on the Text

Northland Stories
The White Silence
The Son of the Wolf
In a Far Country
To the Man on Trail
The Wisdom of the Trail
An Odyssey of the North
The God of His Fathers
Grit of Women
Where the Trail Forks
The Law of Life
Keesh, the Son of Keesh
The Death of Ligoun
Li Wan, the Fair
The League of the Old Men
The Story of Jees Uck
Love of Life
The Sun-Dog Trail
To Build a Fire

Explanatory Notes

PRH Book Clubs Survey