Only the Good Die Young

Only the Good Die Young

Jensen Murphy, Ghost For Hire

Format
Mass Market Paperback
Price
$7.99
 
Additional Formats
  • Mass Market Paperback
  • ISBN 9780451416995
  • 416  Pages
  • NAL
  • Adult

Overview

FIRST IN A NEW SERIES

You know the theory that ghosts are energy trapped when someone dies violently? It’s true. I know it for a fact….
 
My name is Jensen Murphy, and thirty years ago, I was just an ordinary California girl. I had friends, family, a guy who might have been the One. Ordinary—until I became a statistic, one of the unsolved murders of the year. Afterward, I didn’t go anywhere in pursuit of any bright light—I stayed under the oak tree where my body was found, and relived my death over and over. So when a psychic named Amanda Lee Minter pulled me out of that loop into the real world, I was very grateful.
 
Now I’m a ghost-at-large—rescued by Amanda (I found out) to be a supernatural snoop. I’m helping her uncover a killer (not mine—she promises me we’ll get to that), which should be easy for a spirit. Except that I’ve found out that even ghosts have enemies, human—and otherwise…
 
Only the Good Die Young

Only the Good Die Young

Chris Marie Green

Praise

Praise for the Vampire Babylon Series

“A dark, dramatic, and erotic tone. . . . Fans of Charlaine Harris and Jim Butcher may enjoy.”—Library Journal

“Green writes a complex story featuring well-defined characters and more than enough noir mystery to keep readers enthralled.”—School Library Journal

“A book to die for! Dark, mysterious, and edged with humor, this book rocks on every level!”—Gena Showalter, author of The Darkest Lie

“A killer mystery. . . . Bring on book two!”—Kelley Armstrong, author of Counterfeit Magic

Extras

Essay

Do you love ’80s slasher films as much as I do?

Killers in the woods, grotesque masks that hide a maniac’s identity, screams in the night…I can watch flicks like the original Friday the 13th, Halloween, The Burning, and The New York Ripper for hours, knowing that they’re not real…

Unfortunately for the main character in my new series Jensen Murphy, Ghost for Hire, horror movies are all too real. Back in the ’80s, she was a victim of an ax-wielding, bloodthirsty serial killer in Elfin Forest, a genuinely haunted area in San Diego County. Over thirty years later, she comes back as a ghost who yearns to find her murderer—and to help a psychic/medium trap possible criminals by haunting confessions out of them. I wanted to bring my enthusiasm for scary movies to these books, along with creating a whole new paranormal world in the beyond.

And part of the fun was in building Boo World and meeting all the odd spirits in this dimension. One ghost is a World War II sailor who is perpetually drunk. Another is a hot-rod teenager from the ’50s. But my favorite supporting ghost is a contemporary of Jensen’s—a Valley Girl who died while experimenting with “her look,” which is now forever half The Cure and half Cyndi Lauper. (By the way, she’s not so happy about that.)

Jensen herself is more like the girl next door in those slasher movies—the person who usually ends up as “the final girl.” You know—the one who always gets to “kill” Jason Voorhees or Michael Meyers before they somehow get resurrected. Too bad Jensen didn’t live up to that trope, but luckily she’s getting a second chance to “live” in Boo World.

There are other spirits around who aren’t as “light” as Jensen and her friends, though. Some of these dark forces are in Elfin Forest (the Witch of the Woods, the White Lady)…and hiding around every corner in Boo World. There’s even one cryptic, playful spirit who comes to Jensen disguised as her first love, Dean, and he’s always trying to lure her to a strange plane so he can have her all to himself for some reason…

I also loved naming the books. It makes sense that each novel hearkens back to songs Jensen would’ve listened to when she was alive. The first book, Only the Good Die Young, comes from the bouncy Billy Joel song, but in Boo World, the meaning is much more sinister. The second book (out this October!) is called Another One Bites the Dust. Yeah, I totally couldn’t resist that. You’ll see what the third one is in the coming months, but let’s just say it’s in keeping with the ’80s and the dead, too!

I hope you enjoy reading Only the Good Die Young. There’s a lot more to come for Jensen and Boo World!

Penguin Hotline
Brightly
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small