Pernelle's Escape

Pernelle’s Escape

A Rhetoric of Death Novella

Format
ePub
Price
$2.99
 
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9781101585832
  • 68  Pages
  • Berkley

Overview

Judith Rock, the author of the “powerful, absorbing, [and] complex”* historical mysteries featuring ex-soldier turned priest Charles du Luc, presents an original novella about the love of his young life…

Pernelle du Luc Bayle is a widow with a young daughter, no dowry to entice a future husband, and a Protestant—a heretic in the eyes of France’s Catholic King, and therefore an enemy of the crown. Her only hope of raising her child in her own faith lies in escaping to freedom in Geneva, Switzerland.
 
Pursued by the king’s dragoons and unable to trust just anyone with her plight, Pernelle turns to the man she once loved, praying that Charles will be able to help her family reach safety…

Features a preview of the latest Charles du Luc Novel, A Plague of Lies, available October 2012


*Historical Novels Review (Editor’s Choice)

Praise

Praise for The Rhetoric of Death
2011 Barry Award nominee for Best Paperback original
One of Deadly Pleasures magazine’s Best Books of 2010
 
“[Judith] Rock takes you back to fascinating and dangerous seventeenth-century Paris so well that I suspect her of being a time-traveler who’s been there.”—Ariana Franklin, national bestselling author of A Murderous Procession

“Rich with telling detail and a deep feeling for time and place.”—Margaret Frazer, national bestselling author of The Apostate’s Tale
 
“Highly recommended for fans of historical thrillers and readers who enjoy Ellis Peters, Edward Marston, and Ariana Franklin.”—Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for The Eloquence of Death

"Every bit the equal of her impressive historical thriller debut, The Rhetoric of Death. … Readers will hope this energetic and engrossing sequel will be the first of many."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Rock’s historical accuracy resonates here, transporting you to 1686 Paris. Her intriguing plot and protagonists with whom readers are becoming good friends make this a necessary read for all who enjoy historical mysteries, especially those by Ariana Franklin.”—Library Journal (starred review)

"Rock provides meticulous details of everyday life across various social classes with an engaging style…touches of humor and insight … This is the second mystery featuring du Luc, the first being The Rhetoric of Death. It isn’t necessary to have read the first to find oneself quickly pulled into du Luc’s world, however, as Rock skillfully weaves information throughout that hints at the first book and du Luc’s past. In du Luc, Rock has created a highly likeable scholar-detective. I hope that his adventures will play out for many books to come."—L.K. Mason, Historical Novels Review
 
“[Rock] captures a city and time that is lively, dangerous and politically charged, and makes it sing.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
promo_SHOP
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small