Poem Depot

Poem Depot

Aisles of Smiles

Format
ePub
Price
$10.99
 
Additional Formats
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9781101620502
  • 160 Pages
  • Dial Books for Young Readers
  • 9 – 12

Overview

In the vein of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, this illustrated book of humorous poems will guarantee giggles!

Artist, poet, and award-winning author Douglas Florian has written a volume of his newest and best comic poems. Divided into different “aisles” each poem features his critically acclaimed wit and personality-filled drawings, capturing the comedy of everyday life. Meander through the different aisles—such as “Jests & Jives” or “Tons of Puns”—to find everything from laugh-out-loud limericks to frenetic free verse. Like Where the Sidewalk Ends, this collection is sure to be a fun classroom staple and a huge school and library hit.

“Echoes of Shel Silverstein’s brand of wit and whimsy reverberate in Florian’s 170 poems. The kid-friendly selections creatively capture the quotidian comings and goings of youngsters in humorous, forward-thinking verse.”—School Library Journal

Praise

Accolades for Douglas Florian:

Shiver Me Timbers is a New York Public Library 100 Best Titles of the Year pick for 2012.

Dinothesaurus received four starred reviews and was a Bank Street Best Book of the Year, on the Beehive Award Master List (UT), and a Bill Martin Jr. Picture Book Award Nominee (KS).

Insectlopedia was featured on National Public Radio and The Today Show.

Beast Feast is the winner of the Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award.


Praise for Douglas Florian’s art:

“Abstruse and irresistible.”—The New Yorker

“Visually scrumptious.”—The New York Times
Praise for Poem Depot:

“Plenty of laughs to be had.”—Publishers Weekly

“More than one reviewer has already noted that fans of Silverstein’s Where the Sidewalk Ends or A Light in the Attic might also enjoy Douglas Florian’s Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles.”—Julie Danielson (of Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast) in Kirkus Reviews

“With a strong thread of wordplay, the poems will amuse children while also challenging them to think, making this an appealing source of short verse to memorize and an enjoyable collection of poetry to read just for fun.”—Booklist

“The verse here ranges from screwball nursery rhymes to free verse, limericks and even a Ben Franklin aphorism…it’s not Chaucer, but it’s diverting.”—The Wall Street Journal

“Echoes of Shel Silverstein’s brand of wit and whimsy reverberate in Florian’s 170 poems. The kid-friendly selections creatively capture the quotidian comings and goings of youngsters in humorous, forward-thinking verse.”—School Library Journal
Penguin Hotline
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_Teen_small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small