Prozac Nation (Movie Tie-In)

Prozac Nation (Movie Tie-In)

Format
Paperback
Price
$17.00
 
Additional Formats
  • Paperback
  • ISBN 9781573229623
  • 384 Pages
  • Riverhead
  • Adult

Overview

“A book that became a cultural touchstone.” — The New Yorker

Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar.

 

Prozac Nation (Movie Tie-In)

Prozac Nation (Movie Tie-In)

Elizabeth Wurtzel

Awards

Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers Award – Winner

Praise

“Wrenching and comical, self-indulgent and self-aware, Prozac Nation possesses the raw candor of Joan Didion’s essays, the irritating emotional exhibitionism of Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar, and the wry, dark humor of a Bob Dylan song.”&#151The New York Times

“[Wurtzel] is smart, she is funny…she is thoughtful and…she is very, very brave. Wurtzel portrays, from the inside out, an emotional life perpetually spent outrunning the relentless pursuit of what she describes as a black wave, often sacrificing her likability on the altar of her truth.”&#151Vanity Fair

“A very important book, particularly to the countless number of people who aren’t sure what’s wrong with them but are suffering from the negative thinking, erratic behavior, and dark moods associated with clinical depression. A powerful self-portrait…well worth reading”&#151San Francisco Bay Guardian

“The saddest, funniest, and ultimately, most triumphant book about youthful depression I’ve come across. It reads like a mixture of J.D. Salinger and Sylvia Plath, with some Bob Dylan and Bruce Springsteen thrown in for good measure…[Wurtzel] is one canny and entertaining observer of her generation: if you’ve been wondering why Kurt Cobain meant what he did&#151what it feels like to be young, gifted, and black of spirit&#151this book is the CD, tape, video, and literary answer all in one.”&#151Daphne Merkin, author of Enchantment

“A very good book, maybe even an important one, and the pain and despair Wurtzel describes are as real as they are excruciatingly rendered.”&#151Mademoiselle

Table of Contents

Prologue: I Hate Myself and I Want to Die
1. Full of Promise
2. Secret Life
3. Love Kills
4. Broken
5. Black Wave
6. Happy Pills
7. Drinking in Dallas
8. Space, Time, and Motion
9. Down Deep
10. Blank Girl
11. Good Morning Headache
12. The Accidental Blowjob
13. Woke Up This Morning Afraid I Was Gonna Live
14. Think of Pretty Things
Epilogue: Prozac Nation
Afterword (1995)
Acknowledgments
Penguin Hotline
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small