Sand and Fire

Sand and Fire

Format
Hardcover
Price
$26.95
 
Additional Formats
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9780399166884
  • 384 Pages
  • G.P. Putnam’s Sons
  • Adult

Overview

A remarkable military thriller from one of the most widely acclaimed new suspense writers in years—“Fans of Clancy and Coonts need to add Young to their must-read list” (Booklist).
 
North Africa. A jihadist leader has seized a supply of sarin gas and is wreaking havoc: a nightclub in Sicily, a packed street in Gibraltar. Acting on information, Marine gunnery sergeant A. E. Blount, at six-foot-eight a formidable warrior, the grandson of one of the first black Marines, sets out with his strike force to kill or capture the terrorist.

But it is a trap. Several Marines are killed, some are captured, and the jihadist promises that unless forces withdraw, he will execute one prisoner a day. Immediately, Blount’s friends and colleagues Sophia Gold, now with the U.N., and Lieutenant Colonel Michael Parson, working for the United States Africa Command, rush to Libya to help coordinate rescue efforts. The ordeal, however, has only begun. Soon they will all be fighting for their lives in the sand and fire of the desert.

Praise

Praise for Sand and Fire
 
“Young has a gift for allowing the reader to experience the emotional aspects of being a soldier and for describing the desolation of the desert countries our troops are patrolling. Military-thriller fans should make Young’s work an essential addition to their reading lists.”­—Booklist (starred review)

“Young takes the time to offer the reader a window into the deliberative process of these military men and women of action. There are, nonetheless, hearty helpings of realistic shootouts and fistfights. A realistic portrayal of contemporary military action.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Gripping . . . this page-turner offers thrilling action sequences and harrowing plot twists in abundance.”—Publishers Weekly
 
Praise for The Warriors

“Young’s plots create a lot of dramatic heat, and his characters, ordinary Americans caught up in the disasters of our politically tumultuous times, behave in such ways as to win the reader’s affection even as the novelist himself works with great care and energy to win the reader’s trust . . . Reading Tom Young’s fiction gives you the idea of what actual modern combat might be like, not what someone may imagine it to be. His personal experience plus a good dose of narrative craft lead to yet another triumph of the fiction of contemporary warfare.”—The Dallas Morning News

“A terrific addition to what has become an exemplary series . . . Young handles all the military thriller logistics like a seasoned pro . . . but it’s his superior writing that elevates this book above most of the others in this crowded subgenre.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“[Young] is an assured stylist with a gift for subtle characterizations and tightly controlled action scenes. The novel has moral depth as well . . . An expertly rendered tale of lingering hostilities rooted in the former Yugoslavia.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Young experienced the events of the Balkan wars first hand, and his knowledge translates well to the page. The reader develops a true understanding of the atrocities that occurred in the region and shares Young’s concern, expressed in an afterword, that this level of ethnic violence never happens again.”—Booklist
 
“Part of Tom Young’s attraction for readers is his sense of history and ability to explain the complicated origins of past conflicts . . . [and] as all good action thrillers do, The Warriors ends with a satisfying bang-up climax. Certainly fans of Tom Young couldn’t ask for more.”—Washington Independent Review of Books
promo_SHOP
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small