Secret Pizza Party

Secret Pizza Party


Illustrator: Daniel Salmieri

Format
Hardcover
Price
$16.99
 
Additional Formats
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9780803739475
  • 40  Pages
  • Dial Books for Young Readers
  • 3 – 5

Overview

Shhhh! Don’t tell anyone about this mouth-watering book from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos!

How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom! What’s a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course! 
But shhh! It’s a secret! In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didn’t already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .

Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems’s humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart’s desire.

Praise for Dragons Love Tacos:
New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Children’s Book of 2012

“Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids’ lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, ‘The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.’ If further proof is required, Salmieri—whose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humor—shows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from ‘Taco Cave’ and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity:’The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos’), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to ‘housewarming.’ Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly.  Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri’s watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, taco parties.” –San Francisco Chronicle
 
“The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos.” –Kirkus Reviews
 
“The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons.” –School Library Journal

Praise

Praise for Secret Pizza Party

“With a casually diverse cast of characters, Secret Pizza Party is a sure hit for primary-grade kids, who will appreciate the subtle humor and absurdity.” –School Library Journal starred review

“From the madcap creators of Dragons Love Tacos (2012), another animal foodie shows just how far he will go to get his favorite meal. This screwball of a story will leave readers hankering for a slice.” –Kirkus Reviews
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_Teen_small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small