The Accidental Duchess

The Accidental Duchess

Format
Mass Market Paperback
Price
$7.99
 
Additional Formats
  • Mass Market Paperback
  • ISBN 9780515151312
  • 400  Pages
  • Berkley
  • Adult

Overview

From New York Times bestselling author Madeline Hunter comes this seductive tale of a headstrong young lady, a scandalous manuscript, and the iron-willed duke determined to save her from her ruin.  For fans of Mary Balogh, Eloisa James, and Julia Quinn.  
When Lady Lydia Alfreton is blackmailed over the shocking contents of a manuscript she once wrote, she must go to the most desperate of measures to raise the money to buy back the ill-considered prose: agreeing to an old wager posed by the arrogant, dangerous Duke of Penthurst. At least Penthurst is a man she wouldn’t mind fleecing—and she’s confident she’ll win.
Penthurst long ago concluded Lydia was a woman in search of ruinous adventure, but even he is surprised when she arrives at his house ready to bet her innocence against his ten thousand pounds—a wager he only proposed to warn her off gambling.
When she loses to a simple draw of the cards, Lydia is shocked. Now, her problems are twofold: a blackmailer determined to see her pay and a duke determined to tame her rebellious ways. One misstep and Lydia could find herself ruined—or bound to the seductive man who would make her his duchess.

Praise

Praise for THE ACCIDENTAL DUCHESS:
“Blackmailed and faced with embarrassment and the suspicion of treason if the draft of her ill-advised, racy adventure novel is made public, unconventional Lady Lydia Alfreton heads to the gaming tables to raise some cash. Sadly, her gambling plan goes awry, and she is forced to call in an old bet with the Duke of Penthurst and recklessly wager (and lose) her virtue. Although the duke doesn’t plan to collect, he keeps Lydia guessing. Then Lydia’s ill-advised attempt to deal with the blackmailer brings Penthurst to the rescue, compromising them both, and suddenly it’s marriage, not simple seduction, that lay ahead. VERDICT A rash, adventure-seeking heroine and an honorable, take-charge hero clash splendidly as passions blaze in this complex story that pairs another marvelously singular couple, brings the bad guys to justice, and cleverly ties up the loose ends…—to the delight of all concerned.” –Library Journal

“Fueled by an abundance of subtle wit and potent sensuality, The Accidental Duchess…is another exquisitely crafted love story by one of the romance genre’s masters.” –Booklist

Praise for the novels of Madeline Hunter
“Another stellar Regency-set historical romance that hits all the literary marks. Hunter’s effortlessly elegant writing exudes a wicked sense of wit; her characterization is superbly subtle, and the sexual chemistry she cooks up between her deliciously independent heroine and delightfully sexy hero is pure passion.”—Booklist (starred review)
“Intelligent and memorable…As smart and sharp as the best of Regency romances can be.  With its tangy dialogue, Pride and Prejudice themes, bits of mystery and nefarious characters, readers may be reminded of Jane Austen.”—Romantic Times (Top Pick)
“Hunter’s books are so addictive.”—Publishers Weekly
“Hunter’s flowery centerpiece will suit every romance table. Highly recommended.”—Library Journal
Survey
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small