The Buck Stops Here

The Buck Stops Here

The Presidents of the United States

Written by:

Additional Formats
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9780670012527
  • 64 Pages
  • Viking Books for Young Readers
  • 8-12 years


This rich pageant of the American presidents is the culmination of award-winning author-illustrator Alice Provensen’s distinguished career. Using detailed vignettes that capture each era, witty couplets, and extensive factual material, Provensen takes readers on a journey from George Washington through Barack Obama. Newly updated, this twentieth anniversary edition is a treasure trove of American history.


 “Like all the best nonfiction, Provensen’s work should tempt readers to further research. Yet the book is also a treasure in itself; no matter how often one mines its informational gems, its riches are not depleted. The Buck Stops Here has all the feel of an immediate classic.”—Publishers Weekly

“Children will be pleased to make the acquaintance of the forty-one U. S. presidents in this large format book in which so much delights the eye and intellect that each page encourages encore perusals.”—SLJ

“This is a book to drive a young mind to a lifetime’s love affair with our country’s history.”—Christopher Buckley, Washington Post