The Cadet of Tildor

The Cadet of Tildor

Format
ePub
Price
$14.99
 
Additional Formats
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9781101592359
  • 304 Pages
  • Dial Books for Young Readers
  • Teen

Overview

Tamora Pierce meets George R. R. Martin in this smart, political, medieval fantasy-thriller.

There is a new king on the throne of Tildor. Currents of political unrest sweep the country as two warring crime families seek power, angling to exploit the young Crown’s inexperience. At the Academy of Tildor, the training ground for elite soldiers, Cadet Renee de Winter struggles to keep up with her male peers. But when her mentor, a notorious commander recalled from active duty to teach at the Academy, is kidnapped to fight in illegal gladiator games, Renee and her best friend Alec find themselves thrust into a world rife with crime, sorting through a maze of political intrigue, and struggling to resolve what they want, what is legal, and what is right.
The Cadet of Tildor

The Cadet of Tildor

Alex Lidell

Video

Praise

“[Renee is] an imperfect but admirably courageous, principled, and evolving heroine….The world she struggles through is filled with war, crime, and politics, intertwining to create a complex but intriguing plot. Fans of Tamora Pierce and Kristin Cashore should pick up Cadet.”
– School Library Journal
“Full of action and intrigue, kidnapping and heroism, spiced with a touch of fantasy and romance. This is a fully realized, highly detailed medieval world with a surprisingly nuanced and balanced cast of characters. . . . [Renee] is a strong female character determined to do what’s right in a world where no one is completely black or white.”
– Booklist
“Packs a great deal…An intriguing story with a capable heroine.”
– Publishers Weekly
“A gripping debut embraces the trend toward gritty grimdark fantasy….Every character is complex and multilayered…[A] portrayal of believable characters struggling with realistic conflicts affecting every level of society.”
– Kirkus Reviews
Survey
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_Teen_small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small