The Collected Plays of Tennessee Williams

The Collected Plays of Tennessee Williams

Written by: Tennessee Williams

Boxed Set
  • Boxed Set
  • ISBN 9781598531046
  • Library of America
  • Adult


In celebration of the Tennessee Williams centennial in 2011, The Library of America presents its acclaimed two-volume edition of his plays in a collector’s boxed set. Gathering thirty-two works written from the 1930s to the 1980s, this collection contains all the essential dramatic works of the playwright who transformed the American stage. The first volume opens with the rediscovered early plays, Spring Storm and Not About Nightingales, and contains such classics as The Glass Menagerie, A Streetcar Named Desire, The Rose Tattoo, and Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, as well as a selection of one acts. The second volume includes Orpheus Descending, Suddenly Last Summer, Sweet Bird of Youth, Period of Adjustment, The Night of the Iguana, The Eccentricities of a Nightingale, Out Cry, and A Lovely Sunday for Creve Coeur.



“These two volumes constitute all the plays that matter . . . with all the author’s introductions, notes and pertinent essays.” -Los Angeles Times Book Review