The Gallery of Vanished Husbands

The Gallery of Vanished Husbands

A Novel

Format
ePub
Price
$12.99
 
Additional Formats
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9781101629604
  • 352 Pages
  • Plume
  • Adult

Overview

A stunning new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The House at Tyneford

London, 1958. It’s the eve of the sexual revolution, but in Juliet Montague’s conservative Jewish community where only men can divorce women, she ­finds herself a living widow, invisible. Ever since her husband disappeared seven years ago, Juliet has been a hardworking single mother of two and unnaturally practical. But on her thirtieth birthday, that’s all about to change. A wealthy young artist asks to paint her portrait, and Juliet, moved by the powerful desire to be seen, enters into the burgeoning art world of 1960s London, which will bring her fame, fortune, and a life-long love affair.
 

Praise

Praise for The House at Tyneford

“Like Downton, this romance compellingly explores the upstairs-downstairs dynamic of estate life.”—Entertainment Weekly

“Natasha Solomons has written a lovely, atmospheric novel full of charming characters and good, old fashioned storytelling.  Fans of Downton Abbey and Kate Morton’s The Forgotten Garden will absolutely adore The House at Tyneford.”—Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of Fly Away

The House at Tyneford is a wonderful, old-fashioned novel that takes you back in time to the manor homes, aristocracy and domestic servants of England. In this setting, Natasha Solomons gives us a courageous heroine whose incredible love story will keep you in suspense until the final page.”—Kathleen Grissom, author of The Kitchen House
 
The House at Tyneford is an exquisite tale of love, family, suspense, and survival. Capturing with astonishing detail and realism a vanished world of desire and hope trapped beneath rigid class convention, Natasha Solomons’s stunning new novel tells the story of Elise Landau, a Jewish Austrian teenager from a family of artists, who is forced to flee her home in Vienna carrying only a guide to household management and her father’s last novel, hidden on pages stuffed inside a viola. Elise hides as a parlor maid in a fine English country estate, but soon she discovers that passion can be found in the most unexpected places. Already a bestseller in Britain, American readers will thrill to The House at Tyneford.”—Katherine Howe, New York Times bestselling author of The House of Velvet and Glass

“Solomons’s poignant tale provides richly textured details that hold the reader’s interest. Fans of Ann Patchett will find Solomons’s style similar and will appreciate how the subdued tone and the quiet of the countryside contrast with the roar of war.”—Library Journal

“Halfway though, I was so invested in this gorgeously written story that I could barely read on, fearful that what I wished to happen would never come to pass. Permeated with an exquisite sadness, it reminded me of Atonement . . . I adored this book.”—Donna Marchetti, The Cleveland Plain Dealer
Praise for The Gallery of Vanished Husbands

“Natasha Solomons (The House at Tyneford) scores another win with The Gallery of Vanished Husbands . . . a beautifully told story that will resonate with readers who have ever felt there was more inside of them than what was expected of them.” —The Cleveland Plain Dealer

“Solomons (The House at Tyneford) creates in Juliet a detailed character portrait of a woman who exhibits strength and poise under less than ideal conditions. Each chapter tells the story of one of Juliet’s paintings and of important events in her life, and readers will respond to the realistic and beautifully flawed characteristics assigned to her.” —Library Journal, (starred review)

“Reads like a quiet domestic mystery and a romantic drama rolled into one. . . . absorbing and exciting.” —RT Book Reviews, (****)

“Solomons provides wonderful descriptions of London in the 1950s and 1960s, as the city re-awakens after years of deprivation and war, to become vibrant and lively, just like Juliet herself.” —Historical Novel Society

“Solomons . . . has lavished care on every word and ensured this charming, mesmerising story is ultimately about the triumph of the human spirit . . . a warm, luscious read that brims with passion and skilfully evokes a bygone era . . . . a beautifully written tale about a woman who was left socially dead but rose again by seizing life.” —The Times (London)

“Captivates you with its charm, quirkiness and old-fashioned storytelling” —Daily Mail (London)

“A charming tale.” —Good Housekeeping (UK)
promo_SHOP
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small