The Inventor's Secret

The Inventor’s Secret

Format
ePub
Price
$10.99
 
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9780698149175
  • 336 Pages
  • Philomel
  • Teen

Overview

 A new steampunk series from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s The Diviners, Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Angel, Scott Westerfeld’s Leviathan and Phillip Reeve’s Mortal Engines.

In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape  or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.

 


Praise

“Original and highly entertaining . . . Cremer delivers it all: intrigue, romance, dangerous adventures, imaginative machines, and perilous secrets. What more could anyone ask for? This is a delightful read.”— The New York Journal of Books

“Cremer does most everything right here: her fantastical colonial setting is well imagined, the characters have depth, and the adventures are heart-stopping.”–Booklist

“On balance, it’s an entertaining romp in a richly imaginative setting.”–Kirkus Reviews
 
Penguin Hotline
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small