The Keeper of Lost Causes

The Keeper of Lost Causes

The First Department Q Novel

  • Ebook
  • ISBN 9781101543535
  • 416 Pages
  • Plume
  • Adult


The first book in New York Times bestsellerJussi Adler-Olsen’s electrifying Department Q series.

The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo 

Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen’s best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who didn’t draw his weapon—blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl’s got only a stack of Copenhagen’s coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn’t dead … yet.

Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, The Keeper of Lost Causes introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation.
The Keeper of Lost Causes

The Keeper of Lost Causes

Jussi Adler-Olsen


“Plan on putting everything else in your life on hold if you pick up this book.” — The Oregonian

“Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured.” — Library Journal (starred review)

“Adler-Olsen’s prose is superior to Larsson’s, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humor.” — Booklist (starred review)

“The new ‘it’ boy of Nordic Noir.” — The Times (London)

The Keeper of Lost Causes is dark, atmospheric, and compelling. Those who loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will devour this book.” — C. J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Cold Wind


A Department Q Novel
Jussi Adler-Olsen
Jussi Adler-Olsen
Jussi Adler-Olsen
Jussi Adler-Olsen
PRH Book Clubs Survey