The Lakota Way

The Lakota Way

Stories and Lessons for Living

Written by:

Additional Formats
  • Paperback
  • ISBN 9780142196090
  • 256 Pages
  • Penguin Books
  • Adult


Joseph M. Marshall’s thoughtful, illuminating account of how the spiritual beliefs of the Lakota people can help us all lead more meaningful, ethical lives.

Rich with storytelling, history, and folklore, The Lakota Way expresses the heart of Native American philosophy and reveals the path to a fulfilling and meaningful life. Joseph Marshall is a member of the Sicunga Lakota Sioux and has dedicated his entire life to the wisdom he learned from his elders. Here he focuses on the twelve core qualities that are crucial to the Lakota way of life–bravery, fortitude, generosity, wisdom, respect, honor, perseverance, love, humility, sacrifice, truth, and compassion. Whether teaching a lesson on respect imparted by the mythical Deer Woman or the humility embodied by the legendary Lakota leader Crazy Horse, The Lakota Way offers a fresh outlook on spirituality and ethical living.
The Lakota Way

The Lakota Way

Written by: Joseph M. Marshall III


“The Lakota have a wisdom that transcends the ages, and Joseph Marshall delivers it with grace and power.” —Marianne Williamson

“Wise words by an authentic representative of Lakota culture…[An] inspirational book of a high order.” —Kirkus Reviews

Table of Contents

The Lakota Way – Joseph M. Marshall III Acknowledgments
Introduction: Let the Wind Blow Through You
1. Humility – Unsciiciyapi
2. Perseverance – Wowacintanka
3. Respect – Wawoohola
4. Honor – Wayuonihan
5. Love – Cantognake
6. Sacrifice – Icicupi
7. Truth – Wowicake
8. Compassion – Waunsilapi
9. Bravery – Woohitike
10. Fortitude – Cantewasake
11. Generosity – Canteyuke
12. Wisdom – Woksape
Afterword – Wicoiye Ihanke:
The People
Walking the Circle