The Nethergrim

The Nethergrim

Format
Hardcover
Price
$17.99
 
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9780399159985
  • 368 Pages
  • Philomel Books
  • 10 and up

Overview

The next great fantasy epic is here! For fans of Ranger’s Apprentice and The Chronicles of Narnia.

Everyone in Moorvale believes the legend: The brave knight Tristan and the famed wizard Vithric, in an epic battle decades ago, had defeated the evil Nethergrim and his minions. To this day, songs are sung and festivals held in the heroes’ honor. Yet now something dark has crept over the village. First animals disappear, their only remains a pile of bones licked clean. Then something worse: children disappear. The whispers begin quietly yet soon turn into a shout: The Nethergrim has returned!

Edmund’s brother is one of the missing, and Edmund knows he must do something to save his life. But what? Though a student of magic, he struggles to cast even the simplest spell. Still, he and his friends swallow their fear and set out to battle an ancient evil whose powers none of them can imagine. They will need to come together–and work apart–in ways that will test every ounce of resolve.

In a story reminiscent of the Ranger’s Apprentice epic and The Chronicles of Narnia, Matthew Jobin weaves reality, magic, and adventure into the next great fantasy phenomenon.

Praise for THE NETHERGRIM

“This series starter is reminiscent of epic fantasy series such as C.S. Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia or J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings. The characters are strongly drawn and . . . [t]here is a compelling blend of magic, romance, looming evil, and noble sacrifice.–VOYA

“The Nethergrim reminded me of a cross between The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. . . I would really like to see this one on the big screen.” –Brodart’s Library Services

“Entertainingly told with many unique features, The Nethergrim reads like a classic.” –Recommended by Richard C., Powells.com [Staff Pick at Powell’s Books]

“I’d go ahead and say everything about this book screams BLOCKBUSTER FILM.”—The Social Potato Reviews

“Riveting. Perfect for imaginative middle-grade readers craving a hearty magical adventure.”–Booklist

“Fantasy fans will find much to enjoy in this elegant gem of a novel.”–BCCB

“First in a planned trilogy, this is a solid debut for anthropologist Jobin, who steers clear of genre cliches while offering up a refreshingly metaphysical take on magic, a believably dark setting filled with unusual threats, and a seductive and manipulative villain.”–Publishers Weekly

Praise

Praise for THE NETHERGRIM

“Riveting. Perfect for imaginative middle-grade readers craving a hearty magical adventure.”–Booklist

“Fantasy fans will find much to enjoy in this elegant gem of a novel.”–BCCB

“An engrossing read. . . . Jobin combines elements of suspense and mystery with a pervasive sense of impending doom.”–School Library Journal

“First in a planned trilogy, this is a solid debut for anthropologist Jobin, who steers clear of genre cliches while offering up a refreshingly metaphysical take on magic, a believably dark setting filled with unusual threats, and a seductive and manipulative villain.”–Publishers Weekly

“An original and subtle tale by a debut author. . . . Entertainingly told with many unique features, The Nethergrim reads like a classic.” –Recommended by Richard C., Powells.com [Staff Pick at Powell’s Books]

The Nethergrim reminded me of a cross between The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter.  Though geared for a preteen age group, both young adults and adults would surely enjoy it.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and would recommend adding it to your shelves.  I would really like to see this one on the big screen.” –Brodart’s Library Services

Series

The Nethergrim
Matthew Jobin
Matthew Jobin

Extras

Book Website
promo_Western
promo_SHOP
promo_BeaksGeeks
PRH Book Clubs Survey
promo_FirsttoRead_Small

Westerns

Craig Johnson
Keith McCafferty
Michael McGarrity
promo_PenguinBlog_small
promo_FirsttoRead_Small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_EditorsDesk

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Penguin 80th Anniversary
Penguin 80th Timeline
Penguin 80th The Original 10
Penguin 80th Scavenger Hunt
Fun Fact

Elvis Presley is born in 1935 and, a little over 20 years later, he would have his first #1 single on the US charts, forever changing the landscape of popular culture and ushering in a new age of celebrity superstardom.

Penguin 80th Book Truck