The Nine Lives of Alexander Baddenfield

The Nine Lives of Alexander Baddenfield

Written by:
Illustrated by:

Additional Formats
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9780670014064
  • 144 Pages
  • Viking Books for Young Readers
  • 10 and up


Alexander Baddenfield is a horrible boy—a really horrible boy—who is the last in a long line of lying, thieving scoundrels.  One day, Alexander has an astonishing idea.  Why not transplant the nine lives from his cat into himself?  Suddenly, Alexander has lives to spare, and goes about using them up, attempting the most outrageous feats he can imagine.  Only when his lives start running out, and he is left with only one just like everyone else, does he realize how reckless he has been.

With its wickedly funny story and equally clever illustrations, this is dark humor at its most delicious.


“Deliciously wicked.” —Booklist

Blackall’s characteristically knowing illustrations and dramatic design decisions reinforce Marciano’s gleefully morbid humor . . . [an] envelope-pushing bonbon.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Fun for a sophisticated reader, with puns, anagrams, and good-natured satirical potshots.” —The Horn Book

“The amusing, if macabre, premise is abetted by Blackall’s slightly creepy gray and black-toned illustrations . . . Good fun.” —School Library Journal