The Rebel Pirate

The Rebel Pirate

Renegades of the Revolution

Format
ePub
Price
$9.99
 
Additional Formats
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9781101637982
  • 416 Pages
  • NAL
  • Adult

Overview

“Let Donna Thorland sweep you back to the American Revolution, into
a world of spies, suspense, skullduggery, and sex.”
—William Martin, New York Times Bestselling Author of Back Bay

1775, Boston Harbor. James Sparhawk, Master and Commander in the British Navy, knows trouble when he sees it. The ship he’s boarded is carrying ammunition and gold…into a country on the knife’s edge of war. Sparhawk’s duty is clear: confiscate the cargo, impound the vessel and seize the crew. But when one of the ship’s boys turns out to be a lovely girl, with a loaded pistol and dead-shot aim, Sparhawk finds himself held hostage aboard a Rebel privateer.

Sarah Ward never set out to break the law. Before Boston became a powder keg, she was poised to escape the stigma of being a notorious pirate’s daughter by wedding Micah Wild, one of Salem’s most successful merchants. Then a Patriot mob destroyed her fortune and Wild played her false by marrying her best friend and smuggling a chest of Rebel gold aboard her family’s ship.

Now branded a pirate herself, Sarah will do what she must to secure her family’s safety and her own future. Even if that means taking part in the cat and mouse game unfolding in Boston Harbor, the desperate naval fight between British and Rebel forces for the materiel of war—and pitting herself against James Sparhawk, the one man she cannot resist.

READERS GUIDE INCLUDED

The Rebel Pirate

The Rebel Pirate

Donna Thorland

Praise

Praise for The Rebel Pirate

“Authentic detail, amazing characters, and a dazzlingly broad sweep of action make this a richly romantic adventure that’s hard to put down. Truly brilliant. Prepare to be blown away.”—Susanna Kearsley, New York Times bestselling author of The Splendour Falls

“Donna Thorland has done it again, and it’s even more of a scorching read this time.  A pirate heroine falls for a stiff-lipped British captain in this sexy, dangerous gallop through the American Revolution.  Swashbuckling high seas adventure crossed with desire-driven romance, all dished up with perfect historical detail from head to heel.”—Bee Ridgeway, author of The River of No Return

“A fast paced, soundly researched historical intrigue, with vivid characters and sharp writing, The Rebel Pirate is a compelling read.”—Madeline Hunter, New York Times bestselling author of The Counterfeit Mistress

Praise for Donna Thorland and The Turncoat

“A combination of historical espionage and smoldering romance, Thorland’s first novel is a surprising and engrossing tale. Immersing the reader in 1777 Philadelphia, sweeping from decadent high-society balls to the filth of battlefield infirmaries, Thorland exhibits real passion for the time period. Fans of Philippa Gregory and Loretta Chase will find The Turncoat a thrilling read.”—Booklist

“One of the great joys of historical fiction is that it can carry you into another world, submerge you in its trappings, capture you in its conflicts, and let you experience history as it is lived. One of the great joys of reading is to find a new author who creates strong characters, builds vivid scenes, and writes with the assured confidence of an old pro. So allow me the great joy of introducing you to Donna Thorland and her fabulous first novel, The Turncoat. Let Donna sweep you back to the American Revolution, into a world of spies, suspense, skullduggery, and sex. You won’t want to stop reading. You won’t want to come back to the present.”—William Martin, New York Times bestselling author of Back Bay

“A stay-up-all-night, swashbuckling, breath-holding adventure of a novel…an extraordinary book about an extraordinary heroine.”—Lauren Willig, national bestselling author of the Pink Carnation series

“Very entertaining.”—Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth I

“Set in a fascinating and turbulent time in America’s history and featuring an extraordinary heroine, The Turncoat is a wonderful debut. It’s a trip into the dangerous past from the comfort of your reading chair, filled with romance, authenticity, and great storytelling—the very best of what historical fiction can be.”—Simone St. James, author of The Haunting of Maddy Clare and An Inquiry into Love and Death

Series

Renegades of Revolution
The Turncoat
Donna Thorland
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small