The Royal Wulff Murders

The Royal Wulff Murders

A Novel

Format
Paperback
Price
$15.00
 
Additional Formats
  • Paperback
  • ISBN 9780143123057
  • 352  Pages
  • Penguin Books
  • Adult

Overview

The first novel in the clever and fast-paced Sean Stranahan Mystery Series, for fans of C. J. Box, Craig Johnson, and Carl Hiassen
 
Angling is a multibillion dollar business, and no one knows that better than Keith McCafferty, the award-winning survival and outdoor skills editor of Field & Stream magazine and resident of Montana, home to the world’s most fanatical fly fishing community.
            In McCafferty’s compelling debut, a young man is found dead with a Royal Wulff trout fly stuck through his lip. Sheriff Martha Ettinger’s investigation leads her to cross paths with fly fisher, painter, and has-been private detective Sean Stranahan. As the water temperature rises, the clues point them both toward Montana’s big business: fly fishing. Where there’s money, there’s bound to be crime.

Praise

"Keith McCafferty has pulled off a small miracle with The Royal Wulff Murders—a compelling Montana-based novel that will please both mystery readers and discerning fly-fishers.  A terrific debut that rings with authenticity and style." —C. J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Back of Beyond and Force of Nature

“Keith McCafferty hits a bull’s eye with Sean’s story in his debut novel, The Royal Wulff Murders . . . like bacon and brownies—Stranahan’s odd mix of painter, P.I. and fly fisher works. . . . A good fit for enthusiasts of Nevada Barr who have read through all the Anna Pigeon novels. Packed with wilderness action and starring a band of stalwart individualists, The Royal Wulff Murders will have readers begging McCafferty for more.” —Tom Lavoie, Shelf Awareness

“[A] thoroughly entertaining debut . . . McCafferty blends plenty of fly-fishing lore with a host of intriguing characters . . . Only the sharp-eyed observation of the medical examiner suggests the body was a murder victim rather than an accidental drowning. The eventual identification of the victim helps link Stranahan’s task to that of the sheriff. The vivid Montana setting is a plus.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“A fish story with a homicidal hook . . . An entertaining debut.” —Kirkus Reviews

"What a fine and thoroughly satisfying debut novel! There’s so much to enjoy here—a fresh sense of place, a cast of compelling characters, and a plot line with as many twists and turns as a Montana trout stream. Even if you know nothing about fly fishing, you’re going to love this book. Mark my words: From this day forward, you’ll be buying everything Keith McCafferty writes." —William Kent Krueger, author of Northwest Angle and Iron Lake

“Sportsmen will find the one-of-a-kind novel captivating, intelligent, and at times uproarious." —Field & Stream

“An impressive debut . . . the people here are all solid creations, sometimes prickly but always engaging, characters readers will be more than happy to see again.” —The Houston Chronicle

“Blue Ribbon is what they call a trout stream of extremely high quality and that’s what I call Keith McCafferty’s The Royal Wulff Murders—the debut of a frighteningly knowledgeable and wonderfully entertaining series.” —Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and Hell is Empty

“Two chapters in and you know you are in for an interesting read . . . Each scene is set up with a fisherman’s patience, with the wind, water and wildlife of Montana becoming as important as the human characters we follow . . . The Royal Wulff Murders should be on any outdoorsman’s reading list.” —Suspense Magazine

Brightly
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small
SHOP new year
SHOP new year