The Symptoms of My Insanity

The Symptoms of My Insanity

Format
Hardcover
Price
$17.99
 
Additional Formats
  • Hardcover
  • ISBN 9780803732414
  • 384 Pages
  • Dial Books for Young Readers
  • Teen

Overview

For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It’s kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won’t stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who’s hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn’t realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life’s insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic — or is it epidemic?

Praise

“Lovably neurotic . . . A refreshing upheaval of mean-girl stereotypes.”
– Publishers Weekly
“Raf’s background in comedy serves her well and gives her protagonist an authenticity that will make readers feel invested in her story.”
– School Library Journal
“All of the women in this character-driven book are forces of nature . . . Pitch-perfect.”
– BCCB
“Hilarious . . . It’s a generous book, overstocked with characters and dialogue, and it should succeed in putting any reader’s problem into a wider, and funnier, perspective.”
– Booklist
“Light and funny yet grounded in the often painful sensibilities of teenagers. . . . A touching look at the confusion bred in the alliances of teens as they find their way in the world.”
– VOYA
“What could be tragic events for Izzy are tempered by her self-deprecating humor, plenty of female support and a chance for real romance….A female Woody Allen for the teenage set.”
– Kirkus Reviews
promo_SHOP
promo_Childrens
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_Teen_small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small