The Waffler

The Waffler

Gail Donovan

Format
ePub
Price
$16.99
 
Additional Formats
  • ePub
  • ISBN 9781101612675
  • 224 Pages
  • Dial Books for Young Readers
  • 6 – 8

Overview

When one boy waffles back and forth, it’s going to take a few little kids–and one pet rat–to get him to finally make a decision.
 
Monty is a waffler–he can never make up his mind, which always gets him in trouble. But when each student in his fourth-grade class is assigned a kindergarten buddy, Monty takes some left-out kindergarteners under his wing, even though it’s against the rules to have more than one buddy. When his blended family and his teachers find out, they give him an ultimatum: choose just one buddy, or have none at all. That stinks! On top of that, his beloved pet rat escapes, and his twin sister stops speaking to him! Monty doesn’t want to cast away his new friends, but he needs to come to a decision before everything spins out of control. With laugh-out-loud humor reminiscent of Andrew Clements, Donovan gets the agony–and the tremendous fun–of elementary school perfectly.

Praise

“A solid middle-grade choice—no waffling necessary.” – Kirkus Reviews

“A solidly realistic school and family story for fans of Louis Sachar and Claudia Mills.” – The Horn Book

“The everyday-life plots, following Monty’s relationship with his family and his accidental adoption of not one but four kindergarten buddies, are comedic and enjoyable.” – The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Readers will identify with Monty’s issues and root for him…this novel has an enjoyable plot and likeable characters and is therefore a definite selection for any elementary library.” – Library Media Connection
promo_SHOP_MothersDay
promo_FirsttoRead_Small
promo_EckartTolle_small
promo_PenguinBlog_small