The Winter Long

The Winter Long

October Daye #8

Format
Mass Market Paperback
Price
$7.99
 
Additional Formats
  • Mass Market Paperback
  • ISBN 9780756408084
  • 368  Pages
  • DAW
  • Adult

Overview

Toby thought she understood her own past; she thought she knew the score.
 
She was wrong.
 
It’s time to learn the truth.
The Winter Long

The Winter Long

Seanan McGuire

Praise

“The urgency of the ticking clock works well with the political intrigue, Toby’s newfound vulnerability (following a truly diabolical ambush), and the setting’s ever-expanding mythology. Certain plot payoffs and emotional beats further reward longtime readers, making this a truly satisfying entry.“ — Publishers Weekly (for Chimes at Midnight)

“There is a sense that Toby’s journey has started a new path with this book, with the launching of several new story arcs and the continuing evolution of her relationships, but the best elements of this series—the phenomenal worldbuilding, complex plots and fascinating characters—are still present in full force. Readers will no doubt clamor for more, and fortunately, the future is promising for this engrossing series.” — RT Reviews (for Chimes at Midnight)

“Because this book is an epitome of everything that makes the Toby Daye novels one of the best urban fantasy series on the market, right up there with Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files: tight and believable characters, a gorgeously realized universe, and so many unexpected twists it’s almost like they’re going out of style. Chimes at Midnight is definitely my most favorite Toby book to date.” — The Ranting Dragon (for Chimes at Midnight)

“The narrative emphasis is always on the characters’ choices, their weight and their consequences, and I love that. It isn’t only magic that has consequences; choices do, too…. I want you to read the first six volumes in the October Daye series, every single book [is] worth your time.“ — Fantasy Book Cafe (for Chimes at Midnight)

“McGuire also effortlessly weaves in objects, events and characters from past books to add depth to her scenarios. All of her many talents combined makes it very easy for me to say this is one of my favorite urban fantasy series ever! … Fans of Faith Hunter, Benedict Jacka, Jim Butcher and Kim Harrison will delight in Toby and her sidekicks. I, on the other hand, am left pining again for book eight.” — SF Site (for Chimes at Midnight)
Survey
promo_EditorsDesk
promo_StaffPicks
promo_FirsttoRead_Small