Time Thief

Time Thief

A Time Thief Novel

Written by:

Mass Market Paperback
Additional Formats
  • Mass Market Paperback
  • ISBN 9780451417428
  • 352 Pages
  • Signet
  • Adult



Outcast due to their ability to manipulate time, shunned by the mortal and immortal worlds alike, a Traveller’s life is anything but easy.

Peter Faa is a member of the Watch tracking down a murderer, and unfortunately, all clues seem to point toward his own estranged family of Travellers. Any of his cousins could be guilty, but which one? They’re all experts in the art of stealing time…

After surviving a lightning strike, Kiya Mortenson is determined to get just one thing in her life right. And if that means taking a job as nanny to five pugs on a campsite in the Oregon wilderness, then so be it. It doesn’t hurt that the job comes with some spectacular male eye candy, including her new boss’s gorgeous grandson. If only she didn’t keep having this strange sense of deja vu…

When Peter discovers his own family is stealing time from Kiya, all bets are off. While she may drive him crazy at times, it’s clear that it’s not just lightning that’s creating some serious sparks between them. And he’s not going to let secrets, lies, or a devious murderer keep Kiya from where she belongs: at his side.
Time Thief

Time Thief

Written by: Katie Macalister


Praise for the Novels of Katie MacAlister

“A humorous take on the dark and demonic.”—USA Today’s Happy Ever After

“Had me laughing out loud…wondrous.”—Fresh Fiction

“Her sense of humor really can’t be beaten.”—Errant Dreams Reviews




The Otherworld’s premiere dating site!

Personal motto: I have all the time in the world…

Name: Peter Faa

Country of origin: Romania

Current location: Oregon

Gender: Male

Age: 100+

Height: 6’2″

Body type: hard enough to bounce coins on

Looks: Dark, dangerous, and sinfully handsome

Hair color: dark

Eye color: why are you asking me all these questions?

Religion: justice!

Occupation: member of the L’au-dela Watch

Income: Just how many of these questions are there? I thought this was going to be a quick listing thing, and then all the women would e-mail me asking to meet for coffee.

Looking for: a murderous time thief, patience with family members, and a woman who doesn’t take me too seriously

What people generally notice about me: I have a ball of light companion named Sunil. Also, I can steal time.

Favorite hobbies? Brooding.

Favorite music? Brooding.

Most private secret I’m willing to admit: I hate answering questions about myself, and if Sunil hadn’t arranged for me to have a one-year membership on this site, I wouldn’t be answering them right now.

On a typical Friday night, I’m: Not answering questions about myself, I can tell you that. Most likely I’m lurking in the shadows, stealthily following on the trail of a heinous criminal. Or playing World of Warcraft with Sunil.

Personal motto: I have no idea why I was invited to join this site, but hey, a dating site is a dating site, and this one looks like fun. I assume that the Otherworld is a nightclub that sponsors the site? Is the club near Portland? Oh, so a motto. Um. How about: perky, single woman who has no memories of her family seeks dishy, mysterious man

Name: Kiya Mortenson

Country of origin: US all the way, baby!

Current location: Oregon

Gender: Female

Age: 30-something

Height: 5’6″

Body type: Well…I used to go to the gym a lot.

Looks: strawberry blonde, freckles, and two lightning flowers

Religion: the higher self (or so my foster mom calls it)

Occupation: between jobs at the moment

Income: Wow, that’s seriously invasive. Unless this means the income that I’d like to have? If so, oodles, please.

Looking for: a man who knows how to spark up a relationship, and who isn’t afraid of a challenge. Or a really old VW Bug.

What people generally notice about me: Usually the first thing is Eloise, my car. Once people stop asking me how she stays together, and why her doors don’t open, or where the windows went, and why she makes the noise she makes, then they really like me. Most of them, anyway. Well, some people don’t, but they are kind of special little snowflakes.

Favorite hobbies? Oh, just about anything. I like being out in forests and nature. Love animals, especially pug dogs. Camping can be fun!

Favorite music? Showtunes! And 70s rock.

Most private secret I’m willing to admit: Ooooh, good question. Um. I once…no, I probably shouldn’t mention that. OK, there was a time when I had just turned 21, and I broke into a…er…never mind. Hmm. Oh, I know! I’ve been struck by lightning twice. Kinda weird, huh?

On a typical Friday night, I’m: Probably I’m at home in my studio apartment, filching my neighbor’s wifi to look for a job. And watching old black and white mystery movies. And also looking on Ebay for cheap replacement car parts because Eloise always needs something. She’s very demanding. Did I mention that I like to go dancing? It’s just a shame I never get to…