War and Watermelon

War and Watermelon

Format
Paperback
Price
$6.99
 
Additional Formats
  • Paperback
  • ISBN 9780142421383
  • 192 Pages
  • Puffin Books
  • 10 and up

Overview

A story of the summer of ’69 for fans of John Ritter and Mike Lupica

Brody Winslow is having a summer typical for most twelve-year-old boys–hanging out at the pool, listening to music, and hitting on girls. But the year is 1969: we’ve just landed on the moon, the Vietnam War is heating up, the Mets are beginning their famous World Series run, and Woodstock is rocking upstate New York. Down in New Jersey, twelve-year-old Brody is mostly concerned with the top ten hits on the radio and how much playing time he’ll get on the football team. But when he goes along for the ride to Woodstock with his older brother, who is getting closer to the draft age, he starts to wake up to the world that is changing around him.
War and Watermelon

War and Watermelon

Rich Wallace

promo_Western
promo_SHOP
promo_BeaksGeeks
PRH Book Clubs Survey
promo_FirsttoRead_Small

Westerns

Craig Johnson
Keith McCafferty
Michael McGarrity
promo_PenguinBlog_small
promo_FirsttoRead_Small
promo_StaffPicks
promo_EditorsDesk

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Elizabeth Gilbert
Penguin 80th Anniversary
Penguin 80th Timeline
Penguin 80th The Original 10
Penguin 80th Scavenger Hunt
Fun Fact

Elvis Presley is born in 1935 and, a little over 20 years later, he would have his first #1 single on the US charts, forever changing the landscape of popular culture and ushering in a new age of celebrity superstardom.

Penguin 80th Book Truck