Dial Books for Young Readers

Dial Books for Young Readers


Dial Books for Young Readers is a hardcover division publishing approximately seventy titles per year for children of all ages, from preschool through young adult.

Dial Books for Young Readers is a hardcover division publishing approximately 70 titles per year for children of all ages, from preschool through young adult. Dial traces its roots to 1880 and the founding of The Dial, a monthly literary magazine that was edited over the years by Conrad Aiken, Van Wyck Brooks, and Marianne Moore, and published such literary giants as e.e. cummings, T.S. Eliot, D.H. Lawrence, and Gertrude Stein. The magazine founded a book publisher, The Dial Press, in 1924. The publishing house survived, although the magazine was long gone by 1961 when the children’s book division was established. By the 1960’s, Dial was jointly owned by Richard Baron and Dell Publishing Company; E. L. Doctorow was editor-in-chief. When Dell was acquired by Doubleday in the late ’60s, that company sold the children’s division of Dial to E. P. Dutton, and after another few changes in corporate ownership, Dial Books for Young Readers found its current home as a division of the Penguin Young Readers Group.

Through it all, Dial has retained its identity for publishing books of high literary merit, fine design, and kid-relevance. It has pioneered books for the young, including the first quality board books published in the U.S., Rosemary Wells’ Very First Books line, and some of the first wordless picture books, Mercer Mayer‘s A Boy, A Dog, and a Frog titles. Current picture book creators published by Dial include Judy Schachner, Kadir Nelson, Adam Rubin & Daniel Salmieri, David Small, and David Soman & Jacky Davis (all New York Times Bestsellers).

In fiction for middle grade and young adult readers, Dial’s focus has always been on stylish, genuine, character-driven writing. Recent award-winning authors on Dial’s list include Ingrid Law, Richard Peck, Nancy Werlin, Marilyn Nelson, Catherine Fisher, and Holly Goldberg Sloan.

Download Submission Guidelines for Dial Books for Young Readers


Boston Globe-Horn Book Award

Caldecott Medal

Caldecott Honor

Coretta Scott King Award

Coretta Scott King Honor Book

Edgar Allen Poe Award

2008 – Best Young Adult Mystery: Rat Life by Tedd Arnold

Newbery Medal

Newbery Honor

New York Times Best Illustrated Books

National Book Award Finalists

Scott O’Dell Award

Meet Dial Books for Young Readers

Lauri Hornik

Lauri Hornik

President and Publisher

Lauri Hornik joined Penguin in 1999 as Editorial Director of Dial Books for Young Readers, became Dial’s Vice President and Publisher in 2005, and the President and Publisher in 2008. She previously held positions at Bantam Doubleday Dell Books for Young Readers and Houghton Mifflin Children’s Books. In her time at Penguin, Lauri has published such talented authors and illustrators as Richard Peck, Nancy Werlin, Holly Goldberg Sloan, Marilyn Nelson, Jon Agee, Jerry Pinkney, Kadir Nelson and David Small.

Dial Books for Young Readers Newsroom

June 10, 2015

Circus Mirandus, Cassie Beasley’s enchanting debut about a boy, his grandfather, and the mysterious circus that changes their lives, hit stores last week to terrific reviews. In addition to three starred reviews, Circus Mirandus has been named to summer reading guides in the Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Instructor Magazine, BookPage, and Reading Rainbow. The Wall Street Journal praised the book saying, […]

Read more >
2015 indie choice book
April 1, 2015

Finalists for the 2015 Indies Choice Book Awards and the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards have been announced and include one title from Viking/Penguin and five Penguin Young Readers books, in the following categories: Book of the Year: Adult Fiction The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman (Viking/Penguin) E.B. White Read-Aloud Award: Middle Grade Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline […]

Read more >
October 8, 2014

This fall author and actor B.J. Novak turns the notion of the “picture book” on its head with The Book With No Pictures, a text-only story book for young children designed to make any reader into an extraordinary storyteller. The book, which debuts at #2 on The New York Times children’s picture books bestseller list, was launched last week to […]

Read more >

New Releases

Holly Goldberg Sloan
Illustrator: Gary Rosen
Scott Mccormick
Illustrator: R. H. Lazzell
Zachariah OHora


Holly Goldberg Sloan
Adam Rubin
Illustrator: Daniel Salmieri
Caralyn Buehner
Illustrator: Mark Buehner

Coming Soon

Diana Holquist
Illustrator: Christopher Eliopoulos
Brad Meltzer
Illustrator: Christopher Eliopoulos
Michelle Paver

Award Winners

Gloria Jean Pinkney
Illustrator: Jerry Pinkney
Kadir Nelson
Illustrator: Kadir Nelson