Dutton Children's Books

Dutton Children's Books


Dutton Children’s Books is one of the oldest continually operating children’s book publishers in the United States. Edward Payson Dutton opened the doors of his Boston bookshop in 1852 and shortly thereafter began to release “fresh and entertaining” books for young readers. More than 160 years later, the imprint’s mission to create high-quality books that will transport young readers remains strong.

It is every publisher’s dream to acquire the book or books that will last forever. The honey of Dutton’s backlist is found in the four classic works of A.A. Milne and Ernest H. Shepard, in print for over eighty years. Winnie-the-PoohThe House at Pooh CornerWhen We Were Very Young, and Now We Are Six have inspired a line of related titles for Pooh fans young and old, including board books, novelty books, and gift books. That tradition continues with a new generation of modern classics, such as John Green, whose first novel Looking for Alaska, won the American Library Association’s 2006 Michael L. Printz Award, and whose most recent title is the #1 bestselling The Fault in Our Stars was hailed as TIME Magazine’s #1 Best Book of 2012.

Ingenuity marks Dutton’s publishing, and in January 2011, Dutton transitioned into a boutique middle grade and YA fiction imprint. The imprint actively seeks exceptional contemporary literary fiction with a distinctive narrative voice and strong commercial appeal. Dutton will now publishes 10–12 hardcover titles per year.

Dutton’s list has grown and changed over the past century-plus, but its vision remains the same:  books that will engage, entertain, and inspire young readers on their journey to adulthood. We all know from personal experience how books can shape lives. Cultivating the creative talents of authors and publishing books with purpose and heart continue to be the mission and joy at Dutton.


The Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Honor

The Newbery Medal

The Newbery Honor

The Michael L. Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Honor

Boston Globe/Horn Book Award for Fiction

Edgar Allen Poe Award

LA Times Book Prize Finalist

E.B. White Read-Aloud Honor

William C. Morris Award Finalist

Stonewall Honor

New York Times Bestsellers

New York Times Best Illustrated Books

Meet Dutton Children's Books

Julie Strauss-Gabel

Vice President and Publisher

Julie Strauss-Gabel joined Penguin in 2002 as Editor at Dutton, and became Dutton’s Vice President and Publisher in 2011. She previously held positions at Disney-Hyperion and Clarion. In her time at Penguin, Julie has honed many breakout talents, publishing such skilled authors as Ally Condie, Gordon Dahlquist,  Adam Gidwitz, John Green, Nina LaCour, Lauren Myracle, Stephanie Perkins, Kat Rosenfield, and Nova Ren Suma, as well as the children’s debut novels ofNew York Times–bestselling authors John Grisham and Meg Wolitzer, and Alex Award winner, Gregory Galloway.

Dutton Children's Books Newsroom

June 24, 2015

Rebecca Thomas is on board to direct the film version of Looking for Alaska, John Green’s debut novel, published by Dutton Children’s Book in 2005. The book is being adapted into a major motion picture by the team responsible for the film version of Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, with Scott Neustadter and Michael H. […]

Read more >
March 24, 2015

Penguin Young Readers author John Green revealed the official trailer for the film adaptation of his bestselling book, Paper Towns  (Dutton Children’s Books/Speak), with a guest appearance on “Today.” Hypable, Buzzfeed, Bustle, PEOPLE magazine, Teen Vogue, Seventeen, Huffington Post, Vanity Fair, Cosmopolitan, E! News, and Entertainment Weekly are among the outlets that covered the trailer reveal.  A […]

Read more >
March 4, 2015

Congratulations to our 35th annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes Finalist: Stalin by Stephen Kotkin (Penguin Press) is a Biography Finalist. Stalin is the product of a decade of intrepid research, a work that recasts the way we think about the Soviet Union, revolution, dictatorship, the twentieth century, and indeed the art of history itself. Napoleon by Andrew […]

Read more >

New Releases

Coming Soon

Award Winners