G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers


G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers publishes about fifty trade hardcover books a year for children, including lively, accessible picture books and some of today’s strongest voices in fiction.

In 1838, George Palmer Putnam and John Wiley established the publishing house of Wiley & Putnam, which became known as G. P. Putnam’s Sons in 1872. One of the first children’s titles published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons was the 1925 Newbery Honor book Nicholas by Anne Carroll Moore. Other destined-to-be classics soon followed, including the recently reissued Little Toot by Hardie Gramatky. In 1936, Putnam merged with Coward McCann, bringing The Five Chinese Brothers by Claire Hutchet Bishop, illustrated by Kurt Wiese, and Millions of Cats by Wanda Gág to the list. In 1980, Eric Hill‘s classic lift-the flap Where’s Spot? was published and became an international sensation. With the acquisition of Dodd, Mead’s juvenile division in 1989, Putnam welcomed one of its brightest stars—Jan Brett, whose picture books annually climb to the top of the bestseller list.

For years Putnam has been publishing some of the best fiction for young adult and middle-grade readers. Recent successes include the New York Times bestselling The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey, the Mickey Bolitar series by Harlan Coben and the Legend series by Marie Lu; the National Book Award Finalist Picture Me Gone by Meg Rosoff, the E.B. White Award-winning The Apothecary by Maile Meloy, and the Edgar Award-nominated The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. Celebrated authors Melissa de la Cruz, Betty BirneySherri L. Smith, Sheila O’Connor, and Kristin Levine have also garnered tremendous readership and critical praise.

Putnam is also the home of popular chapter book series featuring Humphrey, Princess Posey, and Amber Brown, as well as a wealth of distinguished picture books. Notable picture book creators include Keiko KaszaPeggy Rathmann, and David Catrow, as well as exciting new talent like The Brothers Hilts, Yoko Tanaka,  Dan Santat, Mike Lowery and Christian Robinson.


Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award for substantial and lasting contribution to children’s literature

The Newbery Medal

The Newbery Honor

The Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Honor Medal

The Coretta Scott King Author Award

The Coretta Scott King Author Honor

The Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor

  • 2013: Ellen’s Broom by Kelly Starling Lyons; illustrated by Daniel Minter

The Printz Honor

National Book Award Nominees

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Meet G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

Jennifer Besser

Vice President and Publisher

Jennifer Besser joined G. P. Putnam’s Sons in 2010 as Vice-President and Publisher. She was previously Executive Editor at Disney Book Group where she edited bestselling authors such as Rick Riordan, Melissa de la Cruz, Eoin Colfer, Ally Carter, and Jonathan Stroud.

G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers Newsroom

January 11, 2016

The American Library Association (ALA) annual Midwinter meeting in January is the occasion for major award recognition to be bestowed upon worthy Children’s and Adult titles published the previous year. At this year’s event, now underway in Boston, Penguin Young Readers, Random House Children’s Books, Penguin Random House Audio, and Penguin Random House Adult books and authors won […]

Read more >
September 30, 2015

Penguin Young Readers and Pharrell Williams have partnered with First Book on the #ReadHAPPY campaign, which provides books to children in need. The launch of this campaign coincides with Putnam Books for Young Readers’ October 6 release of Happy!, a photographic picture book based on Williams’ hit song of the same name.  “Every child on […]

Read more >
April 15, 2015

TIME magazine has released its annual list of 100 Most Influential People, with two members of this exclusive club the authors of books published by Penguin. Warm congratulations to our authors: Misty Copeland, author of the children’s picture book Firebird (Putnam Books for Young Readers), with illustrations by Christopher Myers.  Nadia Comaneci:  “Misty proves that success is […]

Read more >

New Releases

Award Winners