Newsroom:
Viking Children’s Books

USA Today reported in this week’s Buzz Books column that The Boys In The Boat, Daniel James Brown’s inspirational non-fiction account of America’s young crew team during the 1936 Olympics, has been adapted into a Young Readers edition.  The Boys In The Boat for readers 10 and up will be published by Viking Children’s Books on September 8.
Finalists for the 2015 Indies Choice Book Awards and the E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards have been announced and include one title from Viking/Penguin and five Penguin Young Readers books, in the following categories: Book of the Year: Adult Fiction The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman (Viking/Penguin) E.B. White Read-Aloud Award: Middle Grade Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson (Nancy Paulsen Books) The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley (Dial Books for Young Readers) E.B. White Read-Aloud Award: Picture Book Last Stop On Market Street by Matt de la Peña, Christian Robinson (Illus.) (Putnam Young Readers) Picture Book Hall of Fame Blueberries For Sal  by Robert McCloskey (Viking Children’s Books) Millions of Cats  by Wanda Gag (Putnam Books for Young Readers) Voting is now underway and being conducted online until midnight, Tuesday, April 14. Every bookseller at an ABA member store is encouraged to vote, one ballot per person. One book in each category will be declared the winner, with the exception of the Picture Book Hall of Fame, where booksellers will choose three inductees. The winners will be announced on Thursday, April 16, and will be honored at the ABA’s Celebration of Bookselling Author Awards Luncheon on Thursday, May 28, at BookExpo America in New York City.
This week Viking Children’s Books released Dove Arising, the debut young adult science fiction novel from 20-year-old author Karen Bao.  Bustle.com praised, “Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction,” and also featured an essay from Bao about what it was like to write her novel as a high school student.  School Library Journal predicted, “Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Marie Lu’s Legend should flock to this well-written debut.” Hypable.com featured an interview with Bao, paired with the reveal of one of four propaganda-style videos created for the campaign. The remaining three were revealed by participants in the extensive pre-pub blog tour that continues. The propaganda videos, along with quote and slogan images, are part of a major social media campaign driving readers to a digital sampler of Dove Arising. National advertising for these assets, as well as the book, includes Entertainment Weekly, CWTV.com, Goodreads, Facebook, and YouTube. Bao met booksellers and librarians in New York, Cincinnati, Chicago, Minneapolis, and Los Angeles on her pre-pub dinner tour this January, and will host launch events at Book Culture and the Princeton Public Library this week. She will also appear on several panels at the Tucson Festival of Books in March. On publication day Tuesday, Karen was interviewed by author and fellow teen prodigy Christopher Paolini in a live Twitter chat moderated by Penguin Teen. In his cover blurb for the book, Paolini wrote, “Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I’ve read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent.”  
Gayle Forman, whose If I Stay was #8 on USA Today’s bestselling books of 2014 list, is celebrating the release of her newest novel, I Was Here, on sale this week from Viking Children’s Books. People called the book “a heartbreaking novel” in a review, and it’s been on buzz lists from USA Today, Bustle, and Seventeen. Forman’s two-week tour for I Was Here centers on the theme of friendship and includes guest appearances from fellow authors such as Maggie Stiefvater, Sarah Dessen, Ruta Sepetys, Margaret Stole, Lauren Oliver, A. S. King, and Jennifer E. Smith, among others. Penguin Teen launched a photo app on www.iwasherebook.com which allows fans to upload their own images or create from a template to join in the #IWASHERE conversation. Start reading an excerpt  from I Was Here.  
The #1 New York Times-bestselling Llama Llama series by Anna Dewdney now has a new companion book, Nelly Gnu and Daddy Tooin which Llama Llama’s best friend Nelly Gnu takes beginning readers on an adventure with her dad. Nelly Gnu and Daddy Too debuts at #2 onThe New York Times children’s picture books bestseller list for the week of May 25. To promote this exciting new addition to her beloved work, Dewdney has been greeting crowds of families at schools and stores during a two-week national author tour through Illinois, Maryland, Virginia, Georgia, North Carolina, Texas, California and Washington. One event in Athens, GA was promoted with an interview in the Athens Banner Herald and drew over 100 enthusiastic families to hear Anna read aloud and do a drawing demonstration. Anna also visited a daycare center, hosted a Mother’s Day event at a Pottery Barn Kids, and visited underprivileged students in Washington D.C. through the Open Book grant program. Nelly Gnu and Daddy Too is receiving a great reception from young readers and reviewers alike. Kirkus Reviews raves, “Dewdney clearly knows her audience and delivers an engaging story illustrated with a rainbow of vibrant hues that preschoolers will love. Here’s hoping there will be more adventures with Nelly and her family.”
PENGUIN GROUP (USA) HAS 7 BOOKS ON THE 2014 PEN LITERARY AWARDS LONGLISTS The 2014 PEN Literary Awards Longlists were announced this week and 7 books published by Penguin Group (USA) are in the running for the following awards: image PEN/Monstein-Spiel Vogel Award for the Art of the Essay: PEN/O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award: PEN Open Book Award: PEN/Jacqueline Bogard Weld Award for Biography: image  
  • Wilson by A. Scott Berg (Putnam)
PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing: PEN/Steven Kroll Award for Picture Book Writing: Penguin Random House has a total of 16 titles on the 2014 PEN Literary Awards Longlists, all of which can be viewed here. The 2014 PEN Literary Awards Shortlists will be announced on June 17.  Winners will be named on July 30 and awards presented at the PEN ceremony in New York on September 29.