Newsroom

Congratulations to our 35th annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes Finalist: Stalin by Stephen Kotkin (Penguin Press) is a Biography Finalist. Stalin is the product of a decade of intrepid research, a work that recasts the way we think about the Soviet Union, revolution, dictatorship, the twentieth century, and indeed the art of history itself. Napoleon by Andrew Roberts (Viking) is a Biography Finalist. Napoleon is the biography of the great soldier-statesman by the New York Times bestselling author of The Storm of War—winner of the Grand Prix of the Fondation Napoleon 2014.
Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi (Riverhead) is a Fiction Finalist. Oyeyemi brilliantly recasts the Snow White fairy tale as a story of family secrets, race, beauty, and vanity. Five Came Back by Mark Harris (Penguin Press) is a History Finalist. Five Came Back tells the extraordinary wartime experience of five of Hollywood’s most important directors, all of whom put their stamp on World War II and were changed by it forever. The Deluge by Adam Tooze (Viking) is a History Finalist. Tooze gives a searing and highly original analysis of the First World War and its anguished aftermath. Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith (Dutton Children's Books) is a Young Adult Literature Finalist. Grasshopper Jungle weaves together everything from testicle-dissolving genetically modified corn to the struggles of recession-era, small-town America in this groundbreaking coming-of-age stunner. Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson (Nancy Paulsen Books) is a Young Adult Litrature Finalist. Jacqueline Woodson, one of today’s finest writers and a National Book Award Winner, tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse. See the Full List of Finalists: http://events.latimes.com/bookprizes/
Tuesday marked the release of Tuna Melts My Heart: The Underdog With The Overbite  (NAL Trade Paperback Original) by Instagram sensation Tuna the Chiweenie (@tunameltsmyheart).  With more than 1.2 million followers, Tuna stole the hearts of national media, appearing as the guest bartender on the hit Bravo TV show “Watch What Happens Live” with guest Kelly Clarkson on March 5. Tuna also had a one-on-one interview with the hilarious Steve Harvey on his talk show “The Steve Harvey Show”(air date, to be announced) as well as live interview’s on Fox’s “Good Day Chicago,” WGN-TV and an 18-city satellite media tour. In addition, Tuna was featured on Good Morning America’s online slideshow, had an amazing interview with comedian Nick Vatterott on Nylon.com, and was even compared to an “A-lister” in the New York Post’sPage 6”. Tuna kicked off his tour with an amazing sold out event at The Strand in New York City, followed by Bookends in Ridgewood New Jersey where he sold hundreds of books. He continues his tour at PAWS Animal Shelter in Chicago, Book People in Austin, Texas, University Books in Seattle, Book Passage in Corte Madera, CA and B&N in Santa Monica, CA. Every bookstore has partnered with a local no-kill shelter to raise awareness for rescue animals everywhere, since our very own Tuna was rescued himself! Creating a special platform for rescue dogs all around the world and bringing joy to fans far and wide, Tuna Melts My Heart is an intimate look inside the daily life and backstory of “the most inspiring dog on the internet” (Buzzfeed).
The New York Times bestselling author of Turn Right at Machu Picchu  sets out to uncover the truth behind the legendary lost city of Atlantis. Full of irresistible characters and intriguing locales, Meet Me in Atlantis, which goes on sale from Dutton on March 10, is also a deep, often humorous look at the human longing to rediscover a lost world.  Adams launches his book tour at WORD Bookstore in Brooklyn next Tuesday at 7:00 pm before visiting Portland, Seattle, the Bay Area, the Tucson Book Festival, and Chicago. In addition to a 27-city radio satellite tour, Adams will also appear on NPR’s The Takeaway, NPR’s On Point, and the late-night radio show Coast to Coast. Adams has written a travel feature for the New York Times that will run on March 22. Other coverage includes Slate, Boing Boing, Outside, Men’s Journal, the New York Post and an interview with National Geographic’s online book page.
This week, New York Times bestselling authors Patricia Briggs and Anne Bishop hit the road to promote their new novels: Briggs’ Dead Heat (Ace) and Bishop’s Vision In Silver (Roc). This is the first time the popular urban fantasy authors have toured together, and early reports have shown that readers are thrilled. More than 100 fans turned out for events in both Seattle, WA and Beaverton, OR! Dead Heat is the fourth novel in Briggs’ Alpha and Omega series, a spinoff of her #1 New York Times bestselling Mercy Thompson series. Vision In Silver is the third book in Anne Bishop’s acclaimed Others series, which is quickly becoming a favorite of fantasy and romance readers. Both books were named RT Book Reviews Top Picks for March and have received excellent coverage on popular websites such as USA Today’s Happy Ever After and Heroes and Heartbreakers. Briggs and Bishop will meet with enthusiastic fans in San Diego, St. Louis, and Houston over the next few days.
Pamela Dorman Books/Viking has announced it will publish a sequel to Jojo Moyes’ global bestseller Me Before You this fall.  After You will be published in hardcover and as an eBook on September 29. Me Before You, has sold more than 5 million copies worldwide.  Moyes’ collected works, also including The Girl You Left Behind and One Plus One, are available in a 36 languages and have sold over 9 million copies. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer optioned the motion picture rights to Me Before You and filming begins this April, with a theatrical release planned for 2016. British director Thea Sharrock is attached to the project, with an all-star cast featuring The Hunger Games’ Sam Clafin and Game of Thrones’ Emilia Clarke. Jojo Moyes said: “I hadn’t planned to write a sequel to Me Before You. But working on the movie script, and reading the sheer volume of tweets and e-mails every day asking what Lou did with her life, meant that the characters never left me. It has been such a pleasure revisiting Lou and her family, and the Traynors, and confronting them with a whole new set of issues. As ever, they have made me laugh, and cry. I hope readers feel the same way at meeting them again.” Brian Tart, President and Publisher of Viking, said: “Jojo is a gifted writer with a devoted following in the U.S. With Me Before You, she gave the world an unforgettable love story, and it is incredibly exciting for Pamela Dorman Books/Viking to publish the sequel and revisit these characters.” Pamela Dorman, Publisher of Pamela Dorman Books, said:  “Me Before You is one of those once-in-a-generation love stories whose characters lived on in readers’ hearts long after they turned the last page.  Now those readers will be rewarded with the arrival of its sequel and only a writer of Jojo Moyes’ warmth, compassion and sheer storytelling gifts could deliver another book as emotionally resonant and compelling as the first.”
Raves have been pouring in for debut novelist Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember In The Ashes, which goes on sale from Razorbill on April 28. The book is already hitting “most-anticipated” lists across the Internet and is #2 on the Spring 2015 Indie Next list.  Fellow Penguin Young Readers author Marie Lu was so engrossed in an advance copy of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES that she missed her connecting flight. Margaret Stohl, author of Beautiful Creatures, raves that it’s “a heart-pounding story of love and loss, with the most original world-building [she’s] read all year.” In a starred review, Publishers Weekly calls EMBER, “A deft, polished debut … brimming with political intrigue.” And MTV News says, “A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny . . .  AN EMBER IN THE ASHES is at the top of our must-read list for 2015.” Watch a Video from the Author:
The 2015 Los Angeles Book Festival announced its award winners this week, and Gotham Books came out on top.  Gotham’s The Glitter Plan received overall top honors and won the gold prize in the general nonfiction category.  Authors Pamela Skaist-Levy and Gela Nash-Taylor will be honored at a private awards reception at the Roosevelt Hotel in Los Angeles on March 7.

Tags

,

This week Viking Children’s Books released Dove Arising, the debut young adult science fiction novel from 20-year-old author Karen Bao.  Bustle.com praised, “Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction,” and also featured an essay from Bao about what it was like to write her novel as a high school student.  School Library Journal predicted, “Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Marie Lu’s Legend should flock to this well-written debut.” Hypable.com featured an interview with Bao, paired with the reveal of one of four propaganda-style videos created for the campaign. The remaining three were revealed by participants in the extensive pre-pub blog tour that continues. The propaganda videos, along with quote and slogan images, are part of a major social media campaign driving readers to a digital sampler of Dove Arising. National advertising for these assets, as well as the book, includes Entertainment Weekly, CWTV.com, Goodreads, Facebook, and YouTube. Bao met booksellers and librarians in New York, Cincinnati, Chicago, Minneapolis, and Los Angeles on her pre-pub dinner tour this January, and will host launch events at Book Culture and the Princeton Public Library this week. She will also appear on several panels at the Tucson Festival of Books in March. On publication day Tuesday, Karen was interviewed by author and fellow teen prodigy Christopher Paolini in a live Twitter chat moderated by Penguin Teen. In his cover blurb for the book, Paolini wrote, “Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I’ve read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent.”  
When he was just 19, Ryan Ferguson was sent to prison for a murder he did not commit and released after a decade behind bars. With his fitness guide, Stronger, Faster, Smarter, which Tarcher published in January of this year, Ferguson shares his secrets to mental, emotional, and, most importantly, physical survival.  This week, Ryan appeared on the Today Show with Matt Lauer to discuss the new book and his plans for a life after release. View the full segment here.  
This train won’t stop! Just over a month on sale, Riverhead’s  The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins is #1 on The New York Times bestseller lists for as fifth straight week and maintaining its incredible momentum.   On Tuesday afternoon, Mashable hosted a live Google Hangout with Paula and readers/fans had the opportunity to interact with Paula and ask her questions about the book. Participants included MashReads members and the general public. Martha Stewart Living did an online check-in with book club members. This is Martha Stewart Living’s third mention of The Girl On The Train, having previously announced it as its February book club selection and Instagrammed a wonderful image (one of Martha Stewart’s most popular Instagrams to date, with over 3,000 likes).