Newsroom

This week Viking Children’s Books released Dove Arising, the debut young adult science fiction novel from 20-year-old author Karen Bao.  Bustle.com praised, “Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction,” and also featured an essay from Bao about what it was like to write her novel as a high school student.  School Library Journal predicted, “Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Marie Lu’s Legend should flock to this well-written debut.” Hypable.com featured an interview with Bao, paired with the reveal of one of four propaganda-style videos created for the campaign. The remaining three were revealed by participants in the extensive pre-pub blog tour that continues. The propaganda videos, along with quote and slogan images, are part of a major social media campaign driving readers to a digital sampler of Dove Arising. National advertising for these assets, as well as the book, includes Entertainment Weekly, CWTV.com, Goodreads, Facebook, and YouTube. Bao met booksellers and librarians in New York, Cincinnati, Chicago, Minneapolis, and Los Angeles on her pre-pub dinner tour this January, and will host launch events at Book Culture and the Princeton Public Library this week. She will also appear on several panels at the Tucson Festival of Books in March. On publication day Tuesday, Karen was interviewed by author and fellow teen prodigy Christopher Paolini in a live Twitter chat moderated by Penguin Teen. In his cover blurb for the book, Paolini wrote, “Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I’ve read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent.”