Romance

Sometimes love hides in the smallest characters

Love in Lowercase

A romantic comedy for language lovers and fans of The Rosie Project, about a brainy bachelor and the cat that opens his eyes to life’s little pleasures.

When Samuel, a lonely linguistics lecturer, wakes up on New Year’s Day, he is convinced that the year ahead will bring nothing more than passive verbs and un-italicized moments—until an unexpected visitor slips into his Barcelona apartment and refuses to leave. The appearance of Mishima, a stray, brindle-furred cat, becomes the catalyst that leads Samuel from the comforts of his favorite books, foreign films, and classical music to places he’s never been (next door) and to people he might never have met (a neighbor with whom he’s never exchanged a word). Even better, the Catalan cat leads him back to the mysterious Gabriela, whom he thought he’d lost long before, and shows him, in this international bestseller for fans of The Rosie Project, The Solitude of Prime Numbers, and The Guest Cat.

Read More

Featured Category Titles

Other Categories In Romance

Connect With Romance

Berkley Romance
It's time to return to Green Mountain... AIN'T SHE SWEET by New York Times bestseller Marie Force is now on sale! Charley... 5 months ago

Berkley Romance
The stakes are high when two thieves must work together in Author Anna J Stewart's THE TROUBLE WITH NATHAN! Read all about... 5 months ago

Berkley Romance
Berkley Romance shared Berkley Publishing Group's post. 5 months ago

Follow us on Facebook

@berkleyromance
RT @amergina: Reminder, I'm doing a giveaway for pre-orders of Daily Grind! https://t.co/SUK0nwlhxR Paper ARC of Just... 5 hours ago

@berkleyromance
I meeeeeeean ¯\_(?)_/¯ https://t.co/bNp5zRQIRn 8 hours ago

@berkleyromance
Creepy, but how friggin' handy would that be?! https://t.co/dbmWWPLqeh 8 hours ago

promo_SHOP

Louisa Farrar's Staff Picks

Louisa is a publicist at Avery Books. From the selection below you would think she only reads about badass women written by badass women. She doesn’t. But it’s a nice coincidence.

Katherine Perkins Staff Picks

Katherine Perkins is an Assistant Editor at Putnam Books for Young Readers. With parents in engineering and medicine and four siblings, Katherine is (so far) the only one in her family to choose a career in the arts over the sciences. She’s also the only one of them in multiple book clubs (these two facts are probably related).

Sarah Blumenstock's Staff Picks

Sarah Blumenstock is a Subsidiary Rights Assistant for Penguin Young Readers. A native New Yorker, she loves singing annoying commercial jingles, running circles around Prospect Park, and quoting Mel Brooks at inappropriate times.

Hope Ellis' Staff Picks

Hope Ellis is a Managing Editorial Assistant with Berkley. In addition to telling not-super-funny jokes, Hope can usually be found reading books with strong female heroines, watching bad TV, and painting random animal portraits (ask her about the pigeon, if you dare).

Joanna Ng's Staff Picks

Joanna Ng is an associate editor at Tarcher. Originally from North Carolina, she has lived in Astoria, Queens for the last six years. She likes to satiate her curiosity by reading lots of books and exploring new places. One of the things she most appreciates about New York City is that there are an endless number of things (food, culture, theater, museums, neighborhoods) to explore.

Amy Brinker's Staff Picks

Amy Brinker is the senior coordinator for the consumer engagement group at Penguin Random House. She lives in Brooklyn where she makes pie and puns. She loves classic novels and terrible movies.

NW

Melanie Tortoroli's Staff Picks

Melanie Tortoroli is an editor with Viking specializing in nonfiction. She loves plantain chips, the color grey, and giving her opinions about what you should be reading.

promo_PenguinBlog_small
promo_Suvudu
promo_Biographile
promo_EverydayEbook