The Hardy Boys

By Franklin W. Dixon
Ages 10 up | Grades 5 up

Why Boys Will Read It:

Action-packed and full of surprises.

What It's About:

Not just the detective stories your grandfather remembers!

Frank and Joe Hardy are brothers and amateur detectives. Their cases range from murder, drug peddling, and race horse kidnapping to diamond smuggling, medical malpractice, big-time auto theft and even espionage.

How to Teach It:

Talk to your students about the elements of a good mystery and have them think about examples from the Hardy Boys books.

The Hardy Boys series first appeared in 1927. Ask your students why they think the series still has modern day appeal.

Series Books

The Hardy Boys #65: The Stone Idol

by Franklin W. Dixon

Click here for a full listing and details about the Hardy Boys titles.